All the Bright Places, by Jennifer Niven

Kester here again! Here’s a review on a new favorite, “All the Bright Places” by Jennifer Niven!
Rating: 10/10 stars
“All the Bright Places” is a dual-POV that revolves around two teenagers who have lost their happy outlook on life. The two meet when Theodore Finch, often called Theodore Freak, sees Violet Market on the same ledge on the belltower, and both were contemplating suicide. Later, they are assigned as partners to visit landmarks in the state of Indiana, so they visit many non-ordinary sites throughout the state. They form an unexpected, intimate relationship, but when it becomes too intimate, everything changes. Violet and Finch must decide whether life is worth living for again.
Man, this book was powerful. Too powerful. So powerful that it (almost) made me cry, and I only cried during two other books. I never thought the YA romance genre would be this good! Once I reached the ending (no spoilers!), I felt so sad, like I was watching one of those romance sob-stories. It was so amazing! This is a new favorite!
I loved the emotion regarding the book. I could feel Violet’s and Finch’s thoughts. The suicidal thoughts and such were very authentic, too. Their backstories were really sad. I wish Eleanor was still alive, but that wouldn’t make the book happen.
The dual-POV was great, too. It told the story from two different sides, which patched up all the holes if this was a single-POV. The characters’ roundness were nice. I didn’t expect those things for Amanda and Ryan.
The only things I cringed at were the profanity and the sexual content. Yes, they are common for teenagers, but it was something I didn’t like. I skipped every section, even though it wasn’t graphic. In addition, there should be more backstory with Finch’s “Awake and Asleep.” I’m unsure what medical condition it is and how he can still stay up for that long (unless he actually slept or napped in that time).
Overall, I really enjoyed “All the Bright Places”! I wished I was able to see Jennifer Niven here in the Philippines, but I’m on a different island!
Pros:

  • Emotion
  • Authenticity of Suicide
  • Dual-POV
  • Characterization
  • Backstories

Cons:

  • Profanity
  • Sexual Content
  • Needs More Clarification on the Asleep

Recommendation: Yes! Read this book!
If you are or you know someone who is contemplating suicide, please get help! There is always someone who can help. You are not alone. People will know what you are feeling if you will tell them. Don’t assume they’re okay. Get help! Once they’re gone, they’re gone. Please don’t take away your life if you are thinking about it. The pain will go away! Always remember to confide in somebody and to confide in the Lord! You can get through it with the guidance of Him and others!

Leave a Reply

