Review from Lilly: Saving Hamlet, by Molly Booth!

DISCLAIMER: I received a free physical copy of this book that I had to send back to the publisher from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review in any way.

Hey, guys!! It’s Lilly!! I have read the book “Saving Hamlet,” by Molly Booth over the last couple days in my free time!! This book was fun to read and quite interesting!! I have also done an interview with the author, Molly Booth, in my last post, so check that out if you haven’t seen it yet!!

Summary:

Emma Allen, a sophomore in highschool, is starting her year of with a bang. With her new haircut and her role as assisstant stage manager in her school production, Hamlet, she’s sure to get the attention of the director and her crush, Brandon. But when things stop going right and Emma’s best friend, LuLu gets angry with her, the show doesn’t go as great as planned, and things seem to be falling apart, it’s up to Emma to fix it. One night, when Emma stays after rehersal, she falls through the stage’s trapdoor. She has landed in an unfamiliar place. Emma soon discovers she has landed in London, in the Globe Theatre. She meets Shakespere himself, and a boy named Alex who might cach Emma’s eye. Traveling through time, things get difficult for Emma. Will LuLu ever forgive her? Will the production turn out terribly?

 

This fictional story of friendship, relationships, and drama is sure to be one you’ll love. Typically, “fantisy” type stories aren’t really my favorite, but I did really enjoy this book!!! I thought it had a great amount of humor, relationships, and drama to make a good book. I really liked the fact that there was always something going on in the book and there was never a dull moment. The way that the time traveling switched throughout chapters was really easy to follow along with and easy to understand. Another thing I really liked about this book was how it demonstrated some modern day lifestyles and was pretty realisitc (besides the time traveling, of course), like LuLu’s parents not being ok her sexuality, and how it showed the reality of chaos, drama, and friendships in a teenagers life.

Overall, this was a really great book and I am so glad I got to read it a little before it goes on sale!!

Who would I suggest this book to?

This book is probably best suited toward young adults/teen from ages around 12-16, or anyone who really enjoys fantasy, fiction, or drama. But, I think that people who like any types of books would like this, because it does show so many aspects of diffrent genres.

Pros:

Interesting

Easy to understand

Many diffrent Genre aspects

Cons:

For people that don’t like historical things, the parts about Shakespere and London might be a little boring/hard to follow.

Overall rating: 9/10

Again, thank you so much to Molly Booth and Molly’s editor, Kieran Viola, for giving me the oppurtunity to read Saving Hamlet a little early!!

If you would like to pre-order Saving Hamlet (available Nov. 1) then it can be found on Barnes and Nobles website. Once again, can’t figure out how to put a link!! I’ll try to figure that out for my next post!!

Happy reading!!

Lilly

 

Leave a Reply

