Corridors of My Mind, by Angel M. B. Chadwick

Kester here with another book review, requested by an author!

DISCLAIMER: I received a free electronic copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review in any way.

I also asked, but not required, the author(s) to subscribe and help publicize the blog. Some authors I requested for signed bookplates and swag. These requests are not in exchange for a review.
Rating: 10/10 stars
“Corridors of My Mind” is a dark, haunting collection of poems by Angel M. B. Chadwick. Featuring heartbreak, redemption, and many spine-chilling topics and themes, this book unlocks the thoughts and feelings from the deepest part of the author’s mind. 
Wow. This book is so powerful. I got hooked by the first few poems. It’s so haunting and spine-chilling that it’s unforgettable.
Now, it is hard to write a review for this collection. Why? Firstly, this is comprised of 132 poems. To critique each and everyone of these poems will be strenuous and tiring, but each poem is amazing in its own way. There were poems I liked more than others, but they were enjoyable nonetheless. Secondly, poetry is very subjective. There are poems that can be interpreted to show sex, lust, and erotica, but the author (I talked with her) did not intend for this to happen. Yet, poetry can be interpreted in many different ways, which makes it sometimes fun to read and discuss.
This did not feel like a collection of poems to me. It felt like a story, a diary, a novel. Like Anne Frank meets Jacqueline Woodson and Maya Angelou in a dark way. With love, loss, heartbreak, and other themes prominent in many poems, I read it as if it were a novel, a story that shows the different sides of the relationships between the author and her loved ones. 
I would like to add that I loved many of the allusions in the poems. Although the author herself is not Catholic, I loved many of the references that related to both mine and her faiths. I could really relate with allusions to purgatory, penance, scrupules, and such. 
The emotion was nice, too. Combined with the author’s writing style, you could really feel what the author felt when writing these poems. Her flowery, descript language along with a ton of repetition made her poems come to life. They sound like ones that she could recite in a poetry meeting in a dim room with soft jazz music going on in the background (wouldn’t you want to go to one?).
Now, there were poems that were hard for me to interpret. I could get at what the author was trying to say, but then again, I couldn’t get what many poets are trying to say. And the one thing that bugged in her writing (sorry, I’m a little of a Grammar Nazi) is the use of a comma after the word but. That was the only thing I found that I didn’t like. Plus, I wish there was more punctuation at the end of each line, though.
Recommendation: Definitely! This book is a wonderful collection of poetry that can be savored by anyone!
If you want to buy her book, click here to go to the Amazon page!

Amazon

Leave a Reply

