Even if the Sky Falls, by Mia Garcia

DISCLAIMER: I won a free physical copy of this book from EpicReads. This does not affect my review in any way.
I also requested for signed bookplates and swag. These requests are not in exchange for a review.

6/10 Stars
“Even if the Sky Falls” is the 24-hour spanning romance of Julia and Miles, two strangers who just met during the Mid-Summer Mardi Gras. Although they don’t know each other’s name, they do learn more about each other while touring around New Orleans. When a hurricane strikes and everyone is mostly gone, Julia finds herself in the midst of chaos as she tries to find safety in the storms of weather and love.
It kind of pains me to write this review. I expected a lot from this book. I thought I would enjoy this book a lot, but sadly I didn’t. Romances to me are hit-or-miss because I usually enjoy them (such as “My Senior Life of Awesome” or “Me Before You”) or dislike them, and this book I disliked.
Honestly, I enjoyed the flashbacks more than the main plotline. I was so intrigued by Adam and his PTSD, and if that were a novel, I would enjoy it more than this. The flashbacks were more suspenseful to me. I was like “What’s going to happen?”
The premise of a 24-hour romance (which I didn’t realize until mid-way into the book) didn’t capture me at all. I found myself thinking the story is a little too condensed, and I think if the romance was spread over the course of maybe days, I would have enjoyed the book better. Minor details also confused me a little, too. Also, when Julie left at the beginning, it felt too sudden. It felt like “Water for Elephants” all over again. It didn’t feel realistic that somebody would leave just like that.
Another thing was the hurricane: it didn’t have as much effect on the plot line. It did, however, add to the moral and theme, but in terms of the romance, not really. It wasn’t as big as I thought it would be. It felt minor.
I had such high hopes for this book. I did enjoy some parts, though, and it did hook me, but it didn’t satisfy my expectations. 
Recommendations: This book was not for me.

Leave a Reply

