Davenport House, by Marie Silk

Kester here with another wonderful review!

DISCLAIMER: I received a free electronic copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review in any way.

I also asked, but not required, the author(s) to subscribe and help publicize the blog. Some authors I request for signed bookplates and swag. These requests are not in exchange for a review.
Rating: 9/10 stars- but it’s a new favorite!
     My pitch for “Davenport House” is a combination of a soap opera and a thrill-seeking crime mystery, like if Agatha Christie were to write her own version of “Downton Abbey” set in America. Mary Davenport soon is thrust into the middle of a mystery, one that would take her through the darkest and most surprising secrets of her family members and her servants. With the mysterious death of her father, Mary tries to figure out who has murdered him and finds out that no one in the entire house can be trusted.
     Really! This book was so good. I was so captivated by the suspense and the mystery of the book! It was short and sweet. Not too long but not too short. Everything pieced out together at the end. It’s a new favorite for me!
     Wow, what a roller coaster! So many shocking revelations! I was like “What?” and “No way!” You would not suspect a thing! I love shockers! I love mysteries! You would suspect some things, but the revelations still shock you! You just wouldn’t expect it! As the story unfolds, it just gets better and better. It did have a slow start for me, but once I was hooked, I couldn’t stop!
     I love how the author just made some characters so hateable and others so lovable! I really disliked Mrs. Davenport so much, which was nice! She acted like one of those mean mothers from the time period. She was authentic! Many of the characters were well-written. Even the ambiguous characters were good. For example, Clara I had mixed emotions. I was rooting for her but hating her attitude. I loved many of the characters!
     Now, there is one thing that made this review go to a 9, and that is the author’s style of writing. Now when you read this book and try to skim a little, the author tends to change the scene so abruptly. There’s no asterisk or space connotating a change; it’s just a sentence or not even one whenever it switches to another scene! It’s the one thing that bugged me so much. I didn’t like that. I would be like “Wait, who’s talking?” many times before I had to go back and find out who’s actually speaking. It was confusing. The transitions are the only thing that I would say the author needs correction on.
    Nevertheless, it was a fantastic book! An amazing one! I loved it! It was just the right amount of suspense, thrill, action, and length a book like this needs.
     Recommendation: Yes! Definitely!
If you want to buy Davenport House, buy it here!

Amazon

To check out more of Marie Silk, click here!

Facebook | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

