Review by Lilly: milk and honey by Rupi Kaur!!

Hi guys!! This summer I have been volunteering all day once a week at a local hospital!! I am obviously no doctor, so I do have some free time while volunteering!! During this time I always read so I can post on this blog (can’t read e-books during this time due to electronic policies.) This week I read “Milk and Honey” by Rupi Kaur. I have had this book for a couple of months and have read it several times!! So here is my review on it:

Summary-

Milk and Honey is a collection of emotional freeverse poems that are divided up into four sections: the hurting, the loving, the breaking, the healing. They are mostly relatable and pretty dark poems.

My opinion-

I really love this book of poems!! They are for very mature minds (mature subjects mentioned)!! I feel that they are well written, and let’s be honest, who doesn’t love some emotional poems?! I keep Milk and Honey on my nightstand as a book that I can pick up and flip through at any given time. You don’t have to read all of the poems at once, infact, you can pick and choose which you read and when you read them. But, if you are anything like me, you will read the first poem and won’t stop!! This will be one of those collections of poetry that I will have forever on my nightstand or book shelf. Rupi Kaur is inspiring and motivating in the times where she brings light into the book. I  wish she would write another collection, I would so read it! On her website, she features her book as well as photography and videos!! To sum it up: I love milk and honey!!

Would I reccomend it?

I do not think any males would like it, but most every female I know would like it! So, YES I do reccomend!!

FAVORITE QUOTES:

-” if you are not enough for yourself  you will never be enough for someone else” -Rupi Kaur

– ” you were a dragon long before he came around and said you could fly .. you will remain a dragon long after he’s left” -Rupi Kaur

– “fall in love with you solitude” -Rupi Kaur

– ” i don’t know what living a balanced life feels like .. when i am sad .. i don’t cry i pour .. when i am happy .. i don’t smile i glow .. when i am angry .. i don’t yell i burn .. the good thing about feeling in extremes is .. when i love i give them wings .. but perhaps that isn’t .. such a good thing cause .. they always tend to leave .. and you should see me .. when my heart is broken .. i don’t grieve .. i shatter” -Rupi Kaur

– ” I know i should crumble for better reasons .. but have you seen that boy he brings the sun to its knees every night” – Rupi Kaur

Happy Reading!!

-Lil

Leave a Reply

