Kester’s 1-Star DNF’s 

Since school for me is starting, I would like to list books that I couldn’t even start. These books- I couldn’t get through the first few pages!
The Secret Speech, by Tom Rob Smith

  • Ugh. I couldn’t get through the beginning. I love World War II books, but when the Soviet main character blew up that Orthodox Church, (even though I’m Catholic) I couldn’t stand it. I just had to stop. Communism is too atheistic for me to handle. Many books that take place in communist Russia with atheistic characters don’t work well for me. That’s how David Benioff’s City of Thieves couldn’t work out (mostly because of too much lust). I can’t handle communists’ immorality.

The Amber Project, by J.N. Chaney

  • Ooh… I love the premise: a post-disease epidemic world. But the first few pages just couldn’t hook me. I know there’s books where I would continue, but I just didn’t understand the beginning! 

Andy Smithson: Blast of the Dragon’s Fury, by L.W.R. Lee

  • I just couldn’t understand the beginning. It was too confusing! I couldn’t really grasp what happened. That’s the problem of fantasy to me sometimes- it’s too confusing.

Fortunately, I got these books either for free or for a cheap price, but these books aren’t worth it. They’re worth 1’s in my opinion. These books are DNF’s, and I hate to have to say that.

Leave a Reply

