Kester Reviews: Just Like Me, by Nancy J. Cavanaugh

DISCLAIMER: I received a free copy of this book from a giveaway hosted by Sourcebooks through the TeachingBooks.net blog. In no way does this affect my review.

I also asked the author for signed bookplates and swag. This does not affect my review, too.
Rating: 10/10 stars
“Just Like Me” revolves around Julia, an adopted Chinese orphan who does not want to identify herself as Chinese along with her “Chinese sisters,” two orphans named Avery and Becca also from the same orphanage Julia was from. Told through a powerful narrative and Julia’s journal entries in her Mrs. Marcia journal, Julia doesn’t want to be at Camp Little Big Woods, especially with Avery and Becca, and even more so with Avery and Becca’s enemies, the mean Vanessa and Meridith. With this year’s theme being “Find the Missing Peace,” Julia sees her cabin trying to find their missing piece and herself trying to find her own identity.
Wow. I was shocked with this book. I had a little low expectations because this was a middle grade book, and sometimes middle grade books aren’t always the best books (for me, of course), but I was fairly surprised! I loved it! 
The book got me hooked. Nearing the end of the story, I just wanted to get done with all my Algebra II classwork so I could finish this book! That’s how good it was. I told my friend, “I just want to read my book instead of this!”
Another positive note is that it was really relatable to me. With the main character being Asian, just like me (did you see what I did there?), I was like “Yes! An Asian character!” Another thing was that I felt the same feelings Julia felt when I was younger. When I was a kid, I was like “I want to marry an American, not a Filipina” or something else. I did embrace my Filipino side, but not as much as my American side. It was crazy. I liked America so much better than the Philippines. Reflecting back on the book, I was Julia almost. When I moved here, I didn’t want to move back. Now moving to the Philippines is a possibility after college (if I weigh the options carefully). 
I didn’t think there were any downsides to the book. There was a good plot, conflict, characters, setting, etc. I don’t think I have anything to criticize! It was great! A book you should definitely read!
Recommendation: Definitely!

3 thoughts on “Kester Reviews: Just Like Me, by Nancy J. Cavanaugh

Leave a Reply

