Kester Reviews: Alibi Interrupted, by J.L. Pattison

DISCLAIMER: I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This will not affect my review.

I have also asked, but not required, the author to help publicize my blog. I have also contacted some authors for bookplates and swag. These requests are outside of the trade.

 

10/10 stars

 

Alibi Interrupted: Time Travel Always Has Its Consequences is the suspenseful, thrilling conjoining of two timelines. In the original timeline, Stewart Hudson travels back in time to 1963 to prevent the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, but after a shocking revelation and turn of events, he gets stuck in the past. In the new timeline, Stacy warns Stewart of how to make his mission successful, but she makes a big risk, risking her entire life turning upside-down.

This short story, although only 32 pages long, was amazing! I loved it! This story is basically The Twilight Zone meets 11/22/63 (even though I haven’t read that book or watch that TV show). It was that good. I was on the edge of my seat, or edge of my bed really, wanting more and more! 
First of all, I love time travel! Although the possibility of it is practically impossible, alternate histories and universes and timelines fascinate me. I would be like “What if President Kennedy survived?” and imagine either a world where the United States is thriving with  moral and economic and scientific prosperity, or the United States is a nation with a false sense of security and “being the best” which leads into war. I don’t know. It’s fascinating! This book did not disappoint! The author really played with timelines and history, and he crafted the story well. Well-researched and had the perfect mix of history and science.
What surprised me most is how such a great, plot-twisting, thrilling plotline fits into 32 pages! Stephen King used 800 pages to write a book on the Kennedy Assassination (which still I want to read and I heard it is amazing), yet J. L. Pattison managed to write something so interesting and amazing in just 30! I felt a little hesitant to read this since I was unsure how one could make a good story in just a few pages, but the author definitely exceeded my expectations. I was pleasantly surprised! 

In addition, it’s The Twilight Zone-esque feeling gave me chills. So many twists and turns and things you had to think about. It was eerie. The ending creeped me out, too! It may have been intended to be warm, but it felt more dark and sinister like the ending to a Twilight Zone episode instead. It was awesome!

Honestly, I have nothing against this story. It was perfect. Period. Amazing! Exclamation point! You should read it, or would you travel back in time to get yourself to read it earlier? Comma, Question Mark? I’m such a Grammar Nazi, to be honest.
Anyway, to sum it all up, read it and enjoy it! Savor it! You’re gonna like it!

Recommendation: Since I am currently watching America’s Got Talent right now, I will use my Golden Buzzer on this story right now! This will go straight into the semi-finals! Maybe I might do a book elimination contest at the end of the year!

2 thoughts on “Kester Reviews: Alibi Interrupted, by J.L. Pattison

Leave a Reply

