A Time to Die, by Nadine Brandes

DISCLAIMER: I received a free electronic copy of this book from the author herself in exchange for an honest review. This will not affect my review in any way.I have already previously received free book swag from the author. This is outside of the trade agreement, and this will not affect my review.

Rating: 3 Stars

I am a part of Nadine’s Ninjas Street Team and the “A Time to Rise” blog/review tour.

“A Time to Die” imagines a world where every single person knows the exact date, even the exact second of his or her death. Parvin Blackwater only has one year left on her Clock, or that’s what she thinks. With her days and minutes ticking down, she realizes that she has wasted her life until then, so she wants to be remembered and do something extraordinary with her last year left on Earth. Her wish soon spirals out of control, thrusting her into a whole new world, the West, where Radicals are thrown into to die, but she’s determined to survive with God’s help.

I have to say, this almost met my expectations. Almost. It was really nice, and I liked it, but there were some things that I just didn’t like about this book. I actually felt really compelled to read this at moments, and other times, I just didn’t. Based off of the reviews I’ve seen, I thought this would be a book like “Between Shades of Gray,” just super super super amazing! Sadly, though, I wouldn’t put this as one of my favorites. I really don’t know how to write this review, though. I really don’t. I don’t know what to say.

I really loved how the author incorporated Christianity in the book. I loved how Parvin had to rely on God so many times, and how she wanted to do what God wanted her to do. I feel connected to Parvin in that sense. We both just don’t know what we’re doing or where we’re going, but we both do know God’s going to lead us where He wants to lead us. I really liked that part. And also the parts where He talks to her. It’s pretty cool; I wish I could hear Him speak to me, but He speaks to each of us in different ways.

Another thing I liked is the action. There were so many moments where you could be on the edge of your seat! So much action and adventure and plot twists, oh my! There were moments that I was in shock. There were moments that I was in mourning. I felt really emotionally compelled in this book. I liked it.

Sadly, though, it didn’t feel “extraordinary” to me. I had some problems with the details. There were sometimes paragraphs of details that I just got bogged down, and I could skip entire sections and still know what happened. I sometimes got really confused, or I just couldn’t grasp the story sometimes.

Overall, this was a good book! I enjoyed it, and I think readers will enjoy it, too! Sadly, though, it wasn’t as amazing as the book I expected it to be. Nevertheless, it was nice!

Recommendation: Yes.

Leave a Reply

