Author Interview with J. L. Pattison!!!

Hi guys! It’s Kester, and I’m here with a special interview. This week’s special guest is J. L. Pattison, and he is an amazing short suspenseful story writer, and I loved his works! Enjoy!

 

1. What are your short stories, THE VISITOR and ALIBI INTERRUPTED about?img_6223

They are both speculative time travel tales that deal with the consequences the protagonists make (or don’t make). The JFK assassination deals prominently in ALIBI INTERRUPTED and is a backdrop in THE VISITOR. Currently I have almost 50 reviews between the two and they both maintain a 4.5-star rating.

2. Which of the two stories is your favorite? Which character did you like the best?

That’s tough to answer. They are both unique in their own right and I like them each for different reasons. THE VISITOR is suspenseful but more contemplative, whereas ALIBI INTERRUPTED is more action and suspense.

3. Why do you like writing? When did you first have a love for writing, and how was it formed? 

Writing is a passion. Like most writers, I like to write because I have to. I can’t not write. It’s something I’ve enjoyed since childhood. In fact, I wrote my first story when I was five.

4. Who are your favorite authors which have had an impact on you? Who has affected your writing style the most?

I know this may be sacrilegious in some circles, but I don’t have a favorite author. I like to read whatever strikes my fancy regardless of who wrote it. I don’t read books because of who wrote them, I read books for what they’re about.

5. What are your favorite genres to read and write? What are you favorite books?

Just like when it comes to authors, I don’t have a particularly favorite genre. I prefer to read what interests me at the time. There are genres, however, that I’m never interested in, like romance, erotica, and horror.

6. What do you do when you’re not writing? Is writing a part-time or full-time job for you?

I wish writing was a full time job. In fact, in this early stage of my writing, it’s not even a part timejob. It’s an obsessive hobby that I’ve spent far more money on than I’ve made. Far more.

7. Why do you like the Kennedy Assassination a lot? It is a fascinating subject!img_5943

It is. For as far back as I can remember, I have always been fascinated by the JFK assassination and the coverup that followed. It amazes me how few people there are today that understands the significance of the coup d’etat that took place that fateful day.

8. If you had the chance, would you prevent the Kennedy Assassination? 

Good question. I suppose, if presented with the opportunity, I would. I’d have a moral obligation to.

9. I like alternate histories and timelines. What do you think would have happened if President Kennedy wasn’t assassinated? Do you like fantasizing about what would happen if this event was changed?

That is a very tough question. It is hard to speculate the millions of variables that would have taken place. One thing for sure, less men would have died in Vietnam as JFK was making attempts to start removing troops from the conflict. Johnson ramped up the war once Kennedy died.

10. Your writings to me are like scripts for episodes of The Twilight Zone. Do you like The Twilight Zone, and how did it affect your writing? img_5942

I love The Twilight Zone, it had a strong influence on me as a child. I’ve never revealed this public ally before, but as an ode to Rod Serling and that great show, I hide a Twilight Zone reference in every story I write. In ALIBI INTERRUPTED the reference is obvious, but in THE VISITOR it is much more obscure. You’d have to be a Twilight Zone fan to catch the references in my two time travel tales as well as the stories I have yet to release.

11. Do you like plot twists? I know I do! 

Are you kidding? I love plot twists. I think one of the greatest plot twist of all time came from The Twilight Zone episode, “To Serve Man.”Although I’ve resigned myself to the fact that not every story I write can have a twist ending, I still strive to have a memorable ending in everything I write.

12. I am a major history buff and geek, especially since it is a very interesting subject on other cultures and time periods. How much of a history buff are you? What, other than the Kennedy Assassination, is your favorite event in history?

I appreciate history but would not actually consider myself a history buff. Besides the JFK assassination, the other major historical event that I am most intrigued by is the holocaust. I’m utterly amazed at how such rampant evil could run parallel with such a beautiful backdrop as thevast countrysides of Western Europe and in such an enrapturing time period as the 1930s and 1940s. The dichotomous contrast is incredibly difficult to reconcile.

13. What other books have you written? What are you currently working on?

I recently published my first paperback, SAVING KENNEDY. It’s a two-story collection containing ALIBI INTERRUPTED and THE VISITOR. I published it for all those who readers who were interested in my JFK time travel stories but preferred a physical book over an ebook. I have many other stories already written and even more in the chute waiting to be written. These will be released in the future in a two-volume anthology. Right now I am working on the novela, THE ISLAND, and three short stories: THE MAN WHO THOUGHT HE COULD FLY, MISSING LUCY, and THE DREAMS OF EVIL MEN.To see all of my works in progress, check out the “Current Projects” page on my blog:

Current Projects

14. Do you have any tips to recommend to aspiring writers?

I certainly do. The biggest impediment to the writing progress that I struggled with was writing the opening to a story, then working and reworking that opening over and over again till I got it right. A month later all I had was the opening. Then I heard about the concept of writing all the way through till the end, and worrying about editing after I was done. It was the best piece of advice I’ve ever received.

A bonus piece of advice that has helped me was Ray Bradbury’s suggestion to those trying to write their first book, to instead put the novel aside and try writing a bunch of short stories. He said that if you write one short story a week, you’ll have 52 in a year. That sure beats laboring for a year to produce one book.
Thank you so much J! 

If you want to buy J. L. Pattison’s new paperback book Saving Kennedy, or if you want to download his two short stories, click on the links below:

Saving Kennedy

Alibi Interrupted

The Visitor

One thought on “Author Interview with J. L. Pattison!!!

Leave a Reply

