100th Post: Interview + GIVEAWAY with Marie Silk!

Hi guys! Man, January is almost over! It has been an amazing month for LILbooKlovers. This is actually the 100th post of LILbooKlovers! Woo hoo! *cue streams and balloons* I am so happy to celebrate our 100th post with Marie Silk, a #1 Amazon bestseller who has had her book Heiress Interrupted placed in the goodie bags at the Golden Globes- the movie and TV show Golden Globes- and the Producers Guild Awards! I loved her first book, and I hope you will enjoy this interview and enter the giveaway below!

We have also nearly tripled our views this month and have met a ton of amazing authors and bloggers! I have definitely enjoyed this month with all of you! To end off January, here is an exclusive interview and GIVEAWAY with Marie Silk. Marie Silk’s book Heiress Interrupted was actually put into the goodie bags at this year’s Golden Globe- the Golden Globes where Jimmy Fallon sang an opening number that parodied La La Land– and the Producers Guild Awards! Marie is also an #1 Amazon bestselling author and the #87 author in Historical Fiction on Amazon! If you want to win her amazing book series (I loved the first book Davenport House), then enter below!

a-marie-new

1. What is your Davenport House series about?photo-7

The Davenport House series follows the lives of a wealthy family and their servants in 1915 America.  The house is turned upside down with the sudden death of the patriarch.  This tragedy sets into motion a chain of events which affects everyone on the estate, including the workers.

2. Why do you love writing? When did you first have a love for writing, and how was it formed?

I love writing because I know how enjoyable it is for me to read a story that originated in the imaginations of other writers. I hope to bring that enjoyment to others.  It’s hard to remember a time that I wasn’t writing. When I was ten years old, I was sent with some other students to organize the storage room at school.  I remember being intrigued by the puppets and theatrical props that were in there. I went home and wrote a play that would use the props. The teachers at school liked the script and we later produced the play for the students.  This was probably the first time I realized that I could write a story.  It was fun!

3. Who are your favorite authors, and which ones have had an impact on you? Who has affected your writing style the most?

My favorite authors cover a wide range from Jane Austen, H.G. Wells, and Jules Verne to George Lucas and Frank Peretti.  I love classic and clever, but I also crave adventure and supernatural elements.  For the Davenport House series, I would say that the works of Jane Austen impacted and inspired me the most. 

4. What are your favorite genres to read and write? What are your favorite books?

I enjoy reading biographies and memoirs.  My favorite books usually involve history, adventure, and travel.  I also like to read about how the spiritual world interacts with the physical world.  My favorite books are The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom (biography), Savaged Lands by Lana Kortchik (war romance), The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi (historical fiction), and The Cooper Kids Adventure Stories by Frank Peretti (adventure, spiritual).

5. What do you do when you’re not writing? Is writing a part-time or full-time job?

Writing and publishing take a lot of time but I would consider it a hobby more than a job. Usually I am spending time with my family, cooking, and reading.  

6. What about 1910s America compelled you to use it as the setting of the series?photo-6

I enjoy this era because so much was happening in America at the time.  There were great advances in technology that I think made for an exciting time to live in.  Of course there was also World War I which changed things drastically for Americans and Europeans.  These changes are explored through the eyes of the characters in differing perspectives.

7. How much research did you have to do to make the story historically authentic?

I spent a lot of time researching historic law, inflation, fashion, available technology, and most of all, the mentality of the people in the time I write about.  I’m not sure how to add up the hours and days of research, but they were many 🙂

8. You have your own publishing company. How is it like being an indie author rather than one affiliated with a larger publisher? What are some of the benefits and challenges of being an indie author?bw-goodreads

When writing for a big publisher, an author is mainly responsible for providing the story and some rewrites.  The author receives an advance on royalties and copies of his/her book.  The publisher arranges for all the editing, formatting, book cover, ISBN, publishing, and marketing. Being an indie author generally means either funding these expenses out-of-pocket or doing everything yourself.  When I first began my book, I felt like I could probably write a story.  However I did not know the first thing about publishing or the book industry!  I had never heard of an ISBN, .mobi, or .epub file.  I took a crash course in publishing and marketing then did my best from what I learned. 

For me, the benefits of being an indie author are numerous.  First and foremost, I am able to see my book in print soon after I write it.  So many authors over the years have poured their heart and soul into a manuscript only to have it sit on a publisher’s desk or even get tossed out!  Being an indie author nearly guarantees that any book I write will be published. There are no queries or rejection letters. The story will be exactly how I want .  I can even decide the selling price, whether my book goes on sale, and whether to offer my book for free. I can choose my own title and cover.  I can market my own book and see a higher percentage of royalties from sales–which brings me to the challenges…

The challenges of being an indie author can also be numerous.  Editing is an important yet frustrating stage.  The manuscript must also be formatted before it can be made into an ebook and paperback.  After these monumental tasks are complete, clicking the publish button proves to only be the beginning.  Readers who leave reviews naturally only represent about 1% of all book sales. Since reviews are an important part of the marketing process, many indie authors seek out reviewers, which is not as easy as it sounds. We also need to somehow convince the reading community to read our book out of the millions of books available. This is where things can get really tricky.

9. Are you a history buff? What is your favorite time period to either read or study about?

I love studying history. My favorite time period is probably the era of Tudor England.  I am fascinated by the politics of European royalty.

10. What is your cure whenever you encounter a case of writer’s block?

I usually find something else to do and sometimes that let’s my imagination continue to develop the story.  If it doesn’t work, then that’s okay too.  Forcing myself to write just leads to frustration whereas waiting until the narrative begins to flow naturally makes for a better story and better writing experience.

11. If you could travel to anywhere around the world, where would you go?

World travel is a favorite of mine.  I’ve been to dozens of countries but I am intrigued with destinations that are a bit difficult to get to, like the Galapagos Islands, Easter Island, and Antarctica.  I hope to visit all someday.

12. How would you describe your reaction when you found out copies of Heiress Interrupted, the fourth installment of the series, were going to be placed in the goodie bags handed out at the Golden Globes and the Producers Guild Awards?mewithbook4

I was extremely grateful for the opportunity!  A gracious sponsor (and fellow author) extended the invitation for independent authors to include their books and I was thrilled to participate 🙂

13. Have you written any other works? What are your current plans with your writing career?

I have written other scripts and stories, but the Davenport House series is all that I have published so far. I plan to keep writing historical fiction books for the time being.

14. Do you have any tips to any aspiring authors or writers?

Steer clear of vanity presses.  These are companies who usually call themselves publishers but instead of paying you an advance, they will charge you to have your book published through them. Let your unique style shine through and don’t worry if it sounds and looks different from other books. I worried constantly about my books being different. I told my story with letters and telegrams, and from the points of view of many characters.  I didn’t know if anyone would be interested in this kind of book.  As of this writing, five of my six books have achieved the title of #1 Amazon Best Seller in U.S. historical fiction.  You just never know until you try.

Thank you so much, Marie, for doing this interview with me! I loved reading your answers!

If you want to check out Marie’s social media accounts or her books, check out the links below!

Website  |  Facebook  |  Goodreads

Amazon

Before we get onto the giveaway, here is a quick rundown of the rules. The giveaway will last from Midnight CST 1/30/17 to Midnight CST 2/6/17. More rules are included in the Rafflecopter.

  1. The paperback prize is ONLY open to U.S. Residents. The electronic prize is open to ALL International Residents with an Amazon account.
  2. You must be 18 years or older or have parental permission to enter.
  3. Winner must respond within 48 hours of me contacting the winner.
  4. You must have either an Amazon account for the electronic copy or an address that you can receive mail (No PO Boxes) for the physical copy.

Go enter here!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

I wish you the best! Please continue to share this interview and giveaway to all your friends and family! It would be really appreciate if you could do so! Thanks so much! Hope you enjoyed this giveaway!

We have also extended our giveaway for an e-copy of Melanie Ifield’s The Age of Corruption to next Monday at midnight CST here! Go hurry while it lasts!

 

7 thoughts on “100th Post: Interview + GIVEAWAY with Marie Silk!

Leave a Reply

