The Spark Within! Chapters 6 and 7 by Alex Abaz

I did receive a free copy of this book. It does not affect my review in any way. 

   Chapter 6: Hardship and Poverty are an Assault on One’s Existence 
   I liked this chapter (totally not the fact that the Hunger Games were mentioned…) a lot. It had a lot to do with poverty and the hardships that come with it.

    “An assault on one’s existence.” This was well explained through mentioning Katniss and Gale as they talk about what it’s like to leave in District 12. They are rules by a higher class of people, and the thought of rebelling was death. It was unthinkable at the time. It was their life and they had no idea how to live in otherwise.

    I’m not the richest person in the world, okay. I go through my own little fits where I wish I could get something only to realize I have no money. I don’t have the newest brand of clothing. I have off-brands and hand-me-downs. Mostly I’m okay with it. They’re just clothes. But then you have those people who have a distaste for that kind of stuff. It’s “not in style.” And I think that’s when it really gets to me. 

     But we’re talking even lower than not being able to buy the newest jacket or Converse. When I read this chapter, I thought of all of those who fight and try to get food on the table every night. There are people out there who only own one pair of shoes. Some people don’t even have a home! 

     And if you have ever been on social media, I’m sure you’ve seen those videos that show a kind homeless man being attacked by people passing by. People judge him and tell him to get off his butt and get a job. It’s awful. Sure, maybe he did throw his life away, but pushing him down like that won’t help him back up. “We must cultivate a sense of respect for diversification and a desire for everyone to have the same opportunities.” That man will not get better, he will never find a job, he will never get his life in order, unless there are people out there willing to help him. Other than helping him, we shame him for putting himself into that situation in the first place. How cruel.

     The poor single mother trying to get enough money to send her children to school will have a tough time saving money for their college. Yet for some of these parents out there don’t even care if their children even attend school half the time. Some of the high school students don’t even care if we get a diploma. And when they do get into college, they blow their money on parties and drugs. And still this mother raises her children on top of two jobs, telling them to get scholarships and make her proud. How we take our opportunities for granted. 

     I’m taking personal finance this semester. There is one thing that is told to us over our online classes: Save. Spend. Give. Once you’ve saved up, you’ll have money you don’t know what to do with. Give it to someone in need. Walk up to someone on the ground in the midst of a city sidewalk. Set a cheeseburger or an apple beside them. Tell him you will pray for them. Give them respect.

       That’s what really went through my head throughout this chapter. I’ve always wanted to help those who struggle in their finances. Just to give them opportunities that they couldn’t get from anywhere else. Some people really deserve to have a nice home and other people to love on them. 
Chapter 7: Most of Us have Unrealistic Expectations of What is Possible in a Day

This chapter was pretty short, but I did think a lot about it.

How much stuff do I want to become when I’m older? 

I want to be a writer. I want to be a graphic designer. I want to go to college and I want to have a family of my own. I want to be well known for inspirational works of fiction. 

This will sound weird, sometimes I daydream about being part of an announcement that my book will be turned into a movie, displayed for the whole world to see. I daydream that my life will still be together.

And yet there are people out there, people who are famous and known across the world that obviously do not have it together. They’re stressed out constantly. Between the fans and the work and the constant travel. I want YouTube a lot, and a lot of my favorite YouTubers (who are usually full of energy and smiles) post videos that they are taking a break for a bit to calm down. Too many things are happening and it’s making them sick.

It makes me think what if the life I want isn’t the life I need? What if the life I want isn’t realistic? 

I know this chapter is about the possibilities inside a day. Getting things done within one day. Managing your time and admitting when something can’t be done, but all of it compared to a career isn’t all that different. Sometimes, you have to admit you cannot do both. You have to choose what you’re able to do. One of my favorite YouTubers said once at the end of a vlog (not quoted to exact words), “I’m not having fun anymore. I’m always stressed out and irritated and it’s affecting everyone around me as well. I have take a leave for a bit to catch up with myself.” He couldn’t take the pressure of having so many things placed on him. Many other celebrities have that same exact problems. Normal people have the same exact problems. 

“When we plan our projects realistically we stand a better chance of achieving our goals,” Abaz writes at the end of the chapter. Look at the reality of your situation. Is it possible? Is it really? Be honest. I have to rethink a lot about what I want my future to hold. I have to know my limits. 

One thought on “The Spark Within! Chapters 6 and 7 by Alex Abaz

  1. Wonderful Cayli – thank you for expounding on what I wrote so beautifully. I recently watched a film called ‘The Choice’ (a chick flick) and this quote stayed with me: “Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.” [Thomas Edison] The implication is that most people don’t want to work but that’s not necessarily true. Some people don’t get the opportunity to work. Life is just not fair! Not everyone is born with a silver spoon in their mouth. Not everyone is given the same mental or physical abilities. Some people grow up in chaotic and disfunctional homes. So let’s be kind to one another because our experiences are all different.

    I love how you took expectations to another level and thought about life goals and achievement. I do believe it’s important to set goals that are realistic and not choosing is not the answer either. The good news is that if we go one way and it doesn’t suit us we can always make another choice 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

