Ringing in the New Year Tag

Hi guys! Happy Sunday! Because I’m so busy with all sorts of school-related things, I wasn’t able to get our post for the Liebster Award (we’ve had four nominations so I need some more time to answer the ones for me). This is, however, our first ever non-award related tag, and we were tagged by Jannin from The Booknerd Dragon. Go check out her blog if you have the chance! She’s amazing! Now here’s my answers to the tag!

Best book/series you’ve read in 2016?

It’s a tie between The 13th Continuum by Jennifer Brody and Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys.

I devoured The 13th Continuum in three days! It was full of so much action, adventure, and suspense that I couldn’t put it down! It was so amazing!

Between Shades of Gray was the prettiest book I read last year. Ruta Sepetys’s writing style and prose is so beautiful and elegant, and I was amazed by the book. It was so awesome that the two are my favorites in 2016.

Ironically, these books just got beat by books from the same authors! I found The United Continuums by Jennifer Brody and Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys now my favorite books of all time! Funny, huh?

Authors that you’ve recently found and would to read more of in the New Year.

Jennifer Brody, Brittany Goodwin, M. Tara Crowl, Jennifer M. Eaton, Shaila Patel, Elle Cosimano,  Nadine Brandes, Jennifer Bardsley, and K. M. Robinson

Most anticipated book turned TV/Movie show.

Before I Fall- based off of Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. The trailer makes the movie look so good! And now I want to both read the book and watch the movie!

Name a character that you wouldn’t mind sharing a kiss on midnight.

Hmm… Maybe Tina Goldstein from Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them? She’d be my Fictional Girlfriend. But if I had to kiss someone my age, I don’t know who!  

What’s on my TBR for 2017?

A ton of books sent to me for review! Soulmated by Shaila Patel, Holding Smoke by Elle Cosimano, Embers in the Sea by Jennifer M. Eaton, A Time to Speak by Nadine Brandes, Golden by K.M. Robinson, Genesis Girl by Jennifer Bardsley, The Secret Billionaire by Teymour Shababi, These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas, An Enlightening Quiche by Eva Pasco, The Fever Code by James Dashner, Emerge by Tobie Easton, Be Light Like a Bird by Monika Schroeder, My Junior Year of Loathing by Jennifer DiGiovanni… and that’s just til March and April!

Will you participate in the Goodreads reading challenge or any other?

Yes! I am currently doing the Goodreads Reading Challenge! My goal for 2017 is 52, which is basically the 52 Books in 52 Weeks Challenge, so it could count as two challenges. I really don’t like those other ones where there’s certain categories you have to read because I’m sent so many books to read and I have so many books I want to read that I don’t want to have to find even more books to complete the challenge. What I have right now is good for me!

Any New Year’s resolution (bookish, blogging, or otherwise)?

Just to be a better person. I want to be more charitable and generous to other people, and do as many good deeds for others.

Book and blogger wise, I’d have to say my resolution is to blog less so I can have more room for my other extracurricular activities and homework.

I nominate for this tag:

Stephanie from Teacher of YA

Krysti from YA and Wine

Sophie from Blame Chocolate

Klara from Ribbon Reviews

Tiana from The Book Raven

Mikaela from the well-thumbed reader

Jamie from Book Pandamonium

If you weren’t mentioned, please feel free to do this tag also! You are welcome to do this! Just remember too please tag me back so I can see your answers!

Hope you enjoyed my answers! 🙂

Til next time! ~ Kester

 

 

25 thoughts on “Ringing in the New Year Tag

  1. Great post! I’m also looking forward for the movie of Before I Fall. I watched the trailer and it seems so good. And also the Fallen by Lauren Kate which will also be a movie. Have you read or heard about that book? I’ve heard that it’s a good one. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. About a girl who kept reincarnating (is there even a word???) and a fallen angel. I haven’t read the whole series yet but I read enough to know some of the plot. But I won’t tell so I won’t kill your curiosity. 😁😁 You should watch the trailer! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey there thanks for tagging me. I was so busy I basically didn’t do anything for my blog- shame on me haha. I will post the tag in a couple of days. And I can really relate to your challenge views. I’lld do the goodreads challenge, too. I want to read 100 Books 😀 But I also don’t see why I should try to read 25 books of femaly, black, crossover or whatever- books. I think that’s the wrong way to go about diversity. I’d rather, as you say, try to tackly my TBR and see what is coming my way.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome 😄 I just finished Aristoteles and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and it was so awesome! If you want some diversity, deep themes and developed characters, you should read it. I’ll write the review tomorrow I think. I’m still in the hangover mood haha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

