Station Fosaan Blog Tour: Interview with Dee Garretson

 

Hi guys! Welcome to my tour stop for the Station Fosaan Blog Tour! Today we are hosting author Dee Garretson on our blog with a great interview with her! Hope you enjoy and check out her newest book!

station-fosaanstation

Title: STATION FOSAAN

Author: Dee Garretson

Pub. Date: February 14, 2017

Publisher: Month9Books

Format: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 300

Find it: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | TBD | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play Books | Indiebound

Synopsis: Scientists and their families stationed on the remote planet of Fosaan were promised a tropical vacation-like experience. But Fosaan, devastated from an apocalyptic event nearly three-hundred years ago, is full of lethal predators and dangerous terrain.

Earthers are forbidden to go beyond the safety zone of their settlement and must not engage the remaining reclusive Fosaanians, native to the planet. Sixteen-year-old Quinn Neen is about to do both of those things.

During an unsanctioned exploration of the planet, Quinn discovers a beautiful Fosaanian girl named Mira stealing food from his family’s living unit. But before he can convince her to show him around, scientists are taken captive, leaving Quinn and the other young Earthers at the mercy of space raiders.

Quinn must go from renegade to leader and convince Mira to become an ally in a fight against an enemy whose very existence threatens their lives and the future of Earthers stuck on Fosaan and at home.

STATION FOSAAN is THE MYSTERIOUS ISLAND meets STAR TREK: THE WRATH OF KHAN.

About Dee:dee-garretson

Dee Garretson writes for many different age groups, from chapter books to middle grade to young adult to adult fiction. She lives in Ohio with her family, and in true writer fashion, has cat companions who oversee her daily word count. When she’s not writing, she loves to travel, watch old movies, and attempt various kinds of drawing, painting and other artistic pursuits.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

Now onto the interview!

dee

Hi Kester, Thanks so much for hosting me on your blog.

1. If you had to introduce your book Station Fosaan to someone, what would you say?station

First, I’d try not to babble, which is what I usually do when someone asks me about one of my books. I like to describe it as STAR TREK The Wrath of Khan meets Jules Verne’s MYSTERIOUS ISLAND with some romance thrown in. And it also has a parrot. I like to add that because how many science fiction stories have parrots?

2. Why do you love writing? When did you first have a love for writing, and how was it formed?

I love writing because I’ve always told myself stories in my head. It was the way I put myself to sleep as a child. I look at writing as a challenge to make the stories in my head come to life for a reader. When I was about twelve, I started trying to write stories, but I’d start and stop and never really finish anything. I was probably about sixteen before I finished a short story. It’s not something that came easily to me, and sometimes life would just lead me down different paths. The good thing about writing is that you can always come back to it, and the more you experience in life, the more it adds to your writing.

3. Who are your favorite authors, and which ones have had an impact on you? Who has affected your writing style the most?

Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors because her writing style is completely unique. I reread PRIDE AND PREJUDICE at least once a year and never get tired of it. J.K. Rowling is another favorite. Like Austen, her writing style is all her own, and both are true storytellers. There is good writing and then there is storytelling, and the books I keep going back to read combine the two.

When I was trying to develop my own writing style, I decided to pick an author whose style I would like to emulate and study what they did. I loved a mystery series by Martha Grimes so I sat down with her books and analyzed them to determine what I liked so much. I realized she had a very easy uncluttered style, and even though the books are murder mysteries, there are some light touches here and there. Those bits of humor made me invest in the characters all the more and made me want to read each new book as it was released. That’s what I’ve worked to develop in my own style.

4. What are your favorite genres to read and write? What are your favorite books?

Favorite genres to read are science fiction, epic fantasy, historicals, mysteries and thrillers. I switch around a lot, partly because if I’m writing in one genre, I don’t read in that genre. It fogs up my brain too much if I do. The books I mentioned above are certainly favorites, but my other favorites are DUNE and a mystery series by Elizabeth Peters. DUNE for the sweeping scope and world building and the Elizabeth Peters books because they are just fun to read, plus they are about archaeologists in Egypt, and I used to dream about being an archeologist.

5. What do you do when you’re not writing? Is writing a part-time or a full-time job?

Writing is a full-time job for me. When I’m not writing, I’m reading or watching movies or hanging out with my family. I also love to travel-we took a trip a few months ago to England and did the Harry Potter Studio Tour. It was basically the perfect vacation, combining books with travel!

6. Since your book takes place on the planet of Fosaan, how did you come up with your setting? Do you have any tips on world building?

I knew I wanted Fosaan to have a tropical climate, but it had to be different from the tropics on Earth, so I decided to make it more of a Jurassic world. I took inspiration from the plants and animals of that time period to create Fosaan. To do the world building, I started with a list of all the elements I had to pull together: history, environment, family structure, societal structure, culture (art, music, etc.) and religion. I sketched out some basic ideas, but then added elements as I pulled together the plot, so that it all tied together. For a unique world, a writer can’t just take an existing or historical culture and rename some elements or change up a few aspects.  The world has to be built bit by bit.

7. Do you believe aliens exist? Would you want to meet one?

I hope aliens exist! There is so much about the universe we don’t know, that is seems possible. I would like to meet one, as long as they weren’t related to Jabba the Hutt. No alien crime lords for me.

8. Would you move and help colonize another planet even though it would mean you would leave all your loved ones on Earth forever?

No, I’m too attached to people here. I might have done it when I was younger and had fewer ties, but not now. I really admire the people who are planning to apply for the Mars mission. I can’t even imagine how overwhelming it is to make a decision like that.

9. Who was your favorite character to write in all your books and why? 

In WOLF STORM one of the characters, Raine Randolph, has been a successful actor since she was a baby, which has sheltered her from the real world. Because she has been so sheltered, she has great fun doing ordinary things. She’s also a bit of a diva but has learned to stand up for herself in an industry where people try to take advantage of her all the time. I really enjoyed trying to imagine what she would be like and how she would react to situations.

10. How did it feel to be chosen to write some of the Boxcar Children books? Which ones did you write? I used to love those books as a kid!

It was incredibly exciting to be chosen to write for the Boxcar Children. I loved series books when I was younger, and it’s kind of like being part of the history of children’s literature to write for them. The ones that came out in 2015 and 2016 are titled THE SLEEPY HOLLOW MYSTERY and THE ELECTION DAY DILEMMA. I’m most excited about the new miniseries, THE GREAT ADVENTURE, out this year to celebrate the 75th anniversary. I helped plot out the five books in the series and wrote the first three. The first book came out February 1st and is called JOURNEY ON A RUNAWAY TRAIN. I’m also excited to have my name on the inside pages as the author of these, though of course Gertrude Chandler Warner’s name is on the front covers.

11. Pick three emojis to describe how you feel whenever your books were nominated for awards and picked for selections, like the Junior Library Guild and the Scholastic Book Club.

I’m not much of an emoji user, but I definitely like the confetti one, especially for the Scholastic Book Club. I remember being so excited as a kid when the Scholastic orders would come in, so to have my book in that was an incredible feeling.

12. How do you cure writer’s block?dee-garretson

I tell myself I don’t have to write perfect sentences. In fact, if you read my first drafts, they’d all sound like random gibberish. I write bits of dialogue, actually a lot of dialogue, interspersed with bits of description, and I jump all over the place. My main goal is just to get the story down and then go back and look at each sentence. My philosophy is that it’s better to have something down on paper. You can fix that. You can’t fix a blank page.

13. Have you written any other works? Out of all your books, which one is your favorite or the one you’re most proud of?

I’ve been writing a long time so I have several books out in the world. I have a middle grade adventure, WILDFIRE RUN, about a U.S. president’s son who gets trapped at Camp David after a disaster, and I have another adventure that is upper middle grade/lower YA called WOLF STORM. It’s about teen actors on a movie set in the mountains who find themselves in the middle of a blizzard. My favorite of my own books is STATION FOSAAN. It was the biggest challenge though it was also the most fun to write. That’s why it’s my favorite.

14. What are your current plans for your writing career?

I have four ideas for stories I’d like to write next, but it’s going to be hard to choose which one I’ll start first. I can’t imagine ever not writing, so I’ll just keep going as long as I can.

15. Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?

Study the books that you love to figure out why you love them, then practice those techniques. Everyone gets discouraged, but keep going. Stubbornness is a writer’s most important character trait.

Thank you so much, Dee, for coming onto our blog! It was fun reading your answers!

 

Now onto the giveaway!

Giveaway Details:

(1) winner will receive a Perfectly Posh, Posh To Meet You Set ($20 value), US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

If you want to go check out the rest of the blog tour, check out these fabulous posts here!

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

2/13/2017- S.E. Muir– Excerpt

2/13/2017- Book Review Becca– Spotlight

2/14/2017- Bibliobibuli YA Interview

2/15/2017- LILbooKlovers Interview

2/16/2017- Lisa’s Loves(Books of Course)– Guest Post

2/16/2017- Omg Books and More Books– Review

2/17/2017- So Few Books– Interview

2/17/2017- Month9Books– Excerpt

Week Two:

2/20/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Interview

2/20/2017- Don’t Judge, Read– Review

2/21/2017- Susan Heim on Writing– Excerpt

2/21/2017- Book-Keeping– Review

2/22/2017- Wishful Endings Interview

2/22/2017-Hidden Worlds BooksGuest Post

2/23/2017- Always & Forever Fangirling– Excerpt

2/23/2017- the Blacksheep Reader– Review

2/24/2017- I am not a bookworm!– Review

 

Thank you so much for reading this tour stop for Dee Garretson’s Station Fosaan! Go check out her books, and remember to subscribe and share our blog to get the latest blog tour stops!

2 thoughts on “Station Fosaan Blog Tour: Interview with Dee Garretson

Leave a Reply

