Review: Holding Smoke by Elle Cosimano – Gave Me Thrills and Chills!

Hi guys! Today we are transitioning from a 10-star review scale to a 5-star review scale. I think it is much easier to review with 5 stars since I find myself too lenient with ratings. So, I’m doing a 5 star review system! We are still figuring out what our rating theme should be- ooh! We’re gonna do something teenish since we’re all a bunch of teens here! So be looking forward to that! Here’s my latest review on Holding Smoke by Elle Cosimano!

Disclaimer: I received a free copy from the author in exchange for a review. I also got some free signed swag- this is outside of the trade agreement. None of these factors will affect my review.

Goodreads Summary: John “Smoke” Conlan is serving time for two murders but he wasn’t the one who murdered his English teacher, and he never intended to kill the only other witness to the crime. A dangerous juvenile rehabilitation center in Denver, Colorado, known as the Y, is Smoke’s new home and the only one he believes he deserves.holding-smoke

But, unlike his fellow inmates, Smoke is not in constant imprisonment. After a near death experience leaves him with the ability to shed his physical body at will, Smoke is able to travel freely outside the concrete walls of the Y, gathering information for himself and his fellow inmates while they’re asleep in their beds. Convinced his future is only as bright as the fluorescent lights in his cell, Smoke doesn’t care that the “threads” that bind his soul to his body are wearing thin-that one day he may not make it back in time. That is, until he meets Pink, a tough, resourceful girl who is sees him for who he truly is and wants to help him clear his name.

Now Smoke is on a journey to redemption he never thought possible. With Pink’s help, Smoke may be able to reveal the true killer, but the closer they get to the truth, the more deadly their search becomes. The web of lies, deceit, and corruption that put Smoke behind bars is more tangled than they could have ever imagined. With both of their lives on the line, Smoke will have to decide how much he’s willing to risk, and if he can envision a future worth fighting for.

Rating: 4.5 stars

Overall Thoughts: I really liked this book; I think it has the potential to change you. I was literally left going “Wow” after I finished the last page. It’s that good! Holding Smoke definitely left me amazed at the events that unfolded. Elle Cosimano’s novel has the potential to be one that you’ll be “holding” for a while.

Grabs Your Attention (Plot and Emotion): What I really liked about this book is that it hooked you from beginning to end. It sprinkles action scenes and flashbacks that rounds out the entire story, along with a few surprises in store. There were times I was sucked into the book and just wanted to continue the story! Holding Smoke definitely gave me a lot of thrills and chills. It definitely was a fascinating read!

Impact: This book will definitely make an impact on how you view other people. I mean, the plot twist and surprise at the end definitely shocked me. I was really shocked, yet you could believe it. Cosimano definitely teaches readers to not judge people by their appearances, by their outward actions, because they might be a different person on the inside. I love how she included an article at the end- it sweetens the package deal!

Some Details (For Me): There were some parts- especially towards the middle- that I was starting to lose interest or become confused. Sometimes I didn’t know if Smoke was in his body or not, others I felt like I want to get this over with. For the most part, the plot in this book is fast, and it will definitely grab your attention! Once it got to the end, everything became really intense and fast-paced that I devoured it!

Favorite Quote: “We’ve all got scars, John, no matter side of the bars we’re on. But we’re the products of our choices as much as our circumstances, and as long as we’re breathing, we’ve all got choices left to make.”

Recommendation: Definitely!

Do you like YA thrillers? What about YA paranormal? Comment below your thoughts, and let’s have a chat! 😉

Til next time!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

Leave a Reply

