The Enemy Within by Scott Burns!

Hey, guys! I’m back with another review. I kept having to delay this one due to changes. As for delays, I just wanted to talk about Catch the Sparks Within for a quick second. I know I said would do them ever Tuesday, but it’s been getting hard and harder to do that. This week there was a change where Tuesday was taken. I have no idea if I will have the chance to post my review for this week. So sorry…

the enemy within

But let’s get onto the review you clicked on!

I am so thankful to have gotten this chance to review this book, The Enemy Within! I am a lover when it comes to sci-fi novels. Interested? Here’s a quick summary!

Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Max has always felt like an outsider. When the agonizing apocalyptic visions begin, he decides suicide is his only escape. He soon finds himself in an institution under the guidance of a therapist who sees something exceptional in him. Just as he begins to leave the hallucinations behind, Max discovers the visions weren’t just in his head. There are three others who have shared those same thoughts and they’ve been searching for Max. Like him, they are something more than human. Each of them possesses certain abilities, which they’re going to need when a covert military group begins hunting them down. As the danger escalates, Max doesn’t know which side to trust. But in the end, his choice will decide the fate of both species.

My rating for this book: 3.5 out of 5

This story holds a bunch of potential. The idea with the Eye was so intriguing. What does it do? What is it even? What is its purpose?  I enjoyed the four characters: Jamie, Vincent, Noah, and Max. I was very interested in how their friendship would turn out.

Though Max was the main character, I think Vincent was my favorite (for those who have read it may have just went why like him? Lol…) Max to me was a little annoying to me at times. I never understood why he chose to do something. It felt like his thoughts were a little rushed and unrealistic to me. Vincent was the same way, but I guess since I never really got to see into Vincent’s thoughts, he felt like a better character. towards the end, I really did not understand the reasoning behind Max’s actions to have done what he did. It moved the story along very rapidly, and I am guessing it was just part of his character.

Speaking of mind reading–Oh, boy I was constantly scared of Jamie. Every single time Max would think something, the first thing I think of is how Jamie can hear every word you’re saying. She gave me the cchhhiiillllss… (I love those kind of characters by the way lol!)

Honestly, I really felt like this book could have gone on a lot longer than it did. It felt very rushed. The plot was amazing! Don’t get me wrong, but I thought if given enough time, this story could have been enhanced so much more. That’s really my big issue with it other than the decision making.

The loved the whole concept of them being the offspring of alien and human. I really wished I could have gotten more information of their parents. I was really wondering how it all worked. I understood the Eye was what protected them, but I kept wondering what was beyond the Eye.

AND THE ENNNNDDDDDIINNNNGGGG… I really do not want to spoil it at all, but the ending made me want to cry and punch something at the same time. In about one paragraph, I am going to start ranting after this non-spoiler part so prepare yourself….

But anyways, yeah, this story could go a long way. It’s concept is so interesting. It really makes you think about a lot of things. You begin to like the characters Max meet. I actually liked it when Max said he liked his doctors. I don’t know about you, but I have seen a lot of stories where characters say their teachers and doctors and parents are just cruel. It was really interesting to see a different point of view.

 

Now for the rant…

 

ATTENTION. SPOILER WARNING. PROCEED WITH CAUTION… LOL. REALLY. 

why. Why. WHY? HOW DID THIS EVEN HAPPEN? I DON’T EVEN UNDERSTAND. ONE MOMENT EVERYONE IS ALIVE AND THE NEXT THING YOU KNOW SHE HAS A SPEAR IN HER CHEST AND MAX IS LEAVING TO GO SEE HIS ALIEN FAMILY. IT WAS SO UNEXPECTED. LIKE I WAS SEEING THEM BECOMING A FAMILY BUT NOOOOO VINCENT HAD BE A JERK AND DESTROY ALL MY HOPES AND DREAMS. WHY NOAH. NOAH DID NOT DESERVE IT. HOW WHEN WHY WHERE WHAT.

3 thoughts on “The Enemy Within by Scott Burns!

  1. I loved this book. It needs a sequel though. It was a fast-paced read that left me wanting more…and I’m glad to see other people reviewing Scott’s book. I hope it becomes a popular one.
    And I feel you about the ending. I do. 🙀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

