Review: Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney

Hey guys! It’s the last day of March, and to end off this month, here is my review of Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney! Man, Summer is almost here! And what does that mean? More reading!

Goodreads Summary: The end of an Empire, The rise of a Queen.

Emory Fae enjoys leading a quiet, normal life. That is until two mysterious, and handsome soldiers show up at her apartment, and the life she knew is instantly whisked away. Memphis Carter and Brokk Foster come from the magical and war ridden world of Kiero, and upon Emory’s arrival she will discover she is the long lost heir to the Royal Line and is thrown into the Black Dawn Rebellion with a dynamic role to ignite the rebels and reclaim her throne.

With both men being darkly woven in her past Emory uncovers hidden secrets, a power held long dormant, and will soon realize there are worse things than supernatural humans, love, loss, betrayal, and a Mad King.

Some things are better left in the shadows.

Disclaimer: I received a free electronic copy of this book from Rockstar Book Tours along with the author and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This will not affect my review.

Rating: 4 Stars

Overall Thoughts: Let me tell you about me and fantasy in general: I’m honestly not the biggest epic fantasy fan. It’s not a genre that I’m the biggest fan. I find there’s so many characters, places, and subplots to remember that I forget half of them! It’s just not my type of book. I’m usually all for contemporary and historical fiction, but I decided to pick up this book because it looked good. Black Dawn was definitely a pleasant surprise! I think for a person who does not like fantasy, I enjoyed reading it! (P.S. I did love the Chronicles of Narnia; now I don’t know who’ll not enjoy them!)

Plot: Black Dawn is short and sweet. It’s just only 150 pages, yet it feels so complete. I zipped through this book like a… well, um… a zip line (I know, so clever). The fast-paced plot will definitely entrance you with action and adventure mixed with romance and betrayal. I finished 80% of this book on a bus trip to Chattanooga right before we stopped to get lunch at McDonald’s (that was our only option; I know, blech!). I couldn’t put it down at times! I even saw some fight scenes unfold over my eyes because it was so vivid! I love it when I feel like I’m watching a movie- they’re the best kinds of books!

Backstory: One of strongest elements of this book is the backstory. I am just so fascinated with the events that led up to the Black Dawn Rebellion. I’m asking all these questions like “What caused this?” and “How did this happen?” and “How was the world like before the Rebellion?” etc. I’m just so curious, yet the author definitely satisfied my hunger for knowledge! Yet I want to know more. You gotta give me the next book! I can’t be left hanging!

Confusion: Now, I had just one problem with this book like I do with all fantasy books: being confused with all the characters, subplots, facts, places, etc. Black Dawn definitely made me scratch my head with some events and characters. There’s some parts where I’m going “Wait, why did this happen? Why is she or he doing that?” or “Who is this again?” Fortunately, this was in a few parts, so as a reader, you might encounter a few loose ends or holes in the fabric (do I really use that many metaphors?) but it’s nothing really big.

Final Thoughts: Before I go, let me talk about that ending. Oh wow- that ending! Mallory, if you’re reading this, send me an ARC once you’re done with the sequel! I really want to continue the story! McCartney definitely makes you want to keep going with the series. Oh, the wait! I’m definitely looking out for the sequel!

Favorite Quote: “To have lost everything but have hope to rebuild the future is the strongest weapon in the world.”

Have you read this book? Do you like fantasy? Comment below your thoughts, and let’s chat!

Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

10 thoughts on “Review: Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney

Leave a Reply

