Review: Emerge by Tobie Easton – Magical Twist on a Classic Tale

Hello! So this review is almost two months overdue because I read it back in March and finished it the day before SE-YA. I had the wonderful opportunity to meet the author, Tobie, and she was amazing! I loved it! Although this was a book I bought and got signed, I want to share it with y’all! I hope you enjoy!


About Emerge27882492

Lia Nautilus may be a Mermaid but she’s never lived in the ocean. Ever since the infamous Little Mermaid unleashed a curse that stripped Mer of their immortality, war has ravaged the Seven Seas. Now Lia lives in a secret community of land-dwelling Mer hidden among Malibu’s seaside mansions and attends high school with humans. To protect everyone around her, she must limit her contact with non-Mer. No exceptions. But when the new girl sets her sights on Lia’s crush, she will risk exposing her deadly secret to stop Clay from falling in love with the wrong girl.


 

A 4 Star

Overall Thoughts: I know this review is like a month and a half overdue, but I really want to review this book because I think it’s one that needs to be shared… plus I planned this review for a while and I need to get to it. I remembered I finished this book the day before SE-YA, and I couldn’t put it down at the end because I was like “What will happen next?” so much!

Backstory/Continuation of The Little Mermaid: World-building is one of my favorite elements of a book. I love how the author continued Hans Christian Anderson’s The Little Mermaid into a story set 200 years; it was definitely a great new twist on an old tale! Rather than being immortal, the Merpeople have become mortals and could die anytime, so many have fled their homes and live among the humans. There’s so much to the culture that it’s fascinating to see their language, their jobs, etc.

Plot and Subtleties: I also love foreshadowing… I mean, I love it when I go “Oh my gosh how did I not notice that before?” There’s a few subtle details that makes sense once you get to the end. I can’t tell you what they are because they’ll ruin the surprise, but you’re definitely go “Wait, why did I not see that?” No, you will not coerce me into saying what they are!

Regarding the plot, this is not your typical romance. There’s so much conflict that surrounds Lia and Clay’s relationship. There’s another girl who wants Clay, but in order to protect him, she must do something that risks her entire community and possibly even her life. I love the dilemma that sprouts from this conflict. Is she doing the right thing? Or is she doing the wrong thing? You have to read it to find out.

Concluding Thoughts: I have almost nothing against this book. Were there some scenes I didn’t like? Yes, only a few, but I really liked this book! I’m looking forward to book 2 since I’m very curious what will happen next! There are some questions that are still unanswered that I got to figure out. Just a few more months!

Favorite Quote: “There’s always hope, even for something you think you’ve crossed off your list. It just takes a little creativity.”


Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

Do you have any thoughts or questions? Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

9 thoughts on “Review: Emerge by Tobie Easton – Magical Twist on a Classic Tale

  1. Oooh this sounds like an amazing mermaid story! I need to add to my TBR ASAP 🙂
    (Actually, I just checked and I have it on my TBR already – great minds think alike XD)
    Glad you could point out very few flaws in this. I hope I have a similar experience! I just love the new twist 🙂
    Great review, Kes ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

