LILbooKlovers 1 Year Blogoversary!: Q&A with Kester

Hello! Today is a special day for the blog because it is our 1 year blogoversary!!! Woo hoo!!! I can’t believe it’s already been one year that I’ve started this blog, and it has grown quite considerably! Now, to celebrate this special day, I’ve answered all your questions from last week’s post below! Hope you enjoy!


Misty from mistysbookspace

What was the first book that got you into reading??

Regarding my newfound of reading from 9th grade, I would say Wicked Appetite by Janet Evanovich made me first go “Reading can actually be super fun!” and I sped through it in a few days.

You can only read one genre for the rest of your life, what genre would you choose?

Historical fiction! I love reading books that are set in different time periods, especially World War II! I can’t get enough of Ruta Sepetys!


Tiana from The Book Raven

What time do you find yourself reading the most?

It usually depends on my schedule for the day. I usually read during breaks in school or the afternoon, or I read at night right before bed. But I don’t have a set time to read.

What are you currently reading and what do you think about it so far?

I’m currently reading That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim, which I think is pretty good so far. I love learning more about the Muslim and Pakistani culture that is inside the book, and I just love the romance!


Stephanie from TeacherofYA

Is it hard being a male blogger in a female-dominated market?

It provides its benefits and challenges. I think it is hard especially on Twitter because I’m often mistaken as a girl because I use the blog Twitter account under LILbooKlovers rather than my name, even though I use it 100% of the time. I think that it’s harder to find other males in the YA market, especially in the US, but it helps me stick out as a reviewer. You know, you need that male perspective on those romances!

Funny story: Brittany Goodwin and I talked about her secret epilogue for If You’re Gone, and I told her I didn’t like it. She said that males did not like the epilogue, including her husband, but females loved it. So you see how a male perspective is valuable for books!

What do you do when you enjoy a book that’s been labeled “problematic?”

I stand by my opinion that I personally don’t think it’s problematic. I’ve encountered this problem once now, and all I can say is that I will stick by my opinion. I will write what I feel about it in my review, regardless of whether it’s an unpopular opinion or not, but I will avoid debating about it.

What are your future blog goals?

I hope to expand the blog and get noticed by larger authors and publishers! It would be a dream to get ARCs from the Big 5 that are some of the hottest releases!

Who is your all-time favorite author that you’ve met, and that you still have yet to meet?

Shaila Patel’s my favorite author I have met. She’s super nice and sweet, and we’ve been chatting for a while leading up to SE-YA! She’s amazing, and I look forward to Soulmated‘s sequel!

I really want to meet Ruta Sepetys so much! Her books are some of my all-time favorites, and they have definitely changed my outlook on the world! She’s such an amazing historical fiction writer that I just want her to sign my books!

If you could buy a copy of any book or own any book (ARCs included), what would you pick?

A Caraval ARC. I really want one so much. I’m hoping I could trade for one soon! Or a signed Ruta Sepetys book!


Jackie from toomuchofabooknerd

What is piece of advice would you give bloggers that are just starting out?

Don’t stress about anything, and know it takes time. It took us 8 months until we got out of a “20 follower rut.” Now we’re at 200 followers. Other bloggers have launched automatically while others take a lot of time. Just have a game plan and find people online to help you. Comment on other people’s blog. Get a Twitter and meet bloggers. But do not stress about it. Everything takes time!

Who is your all time favourite author?

I have two because they have two different writing styles that are both amazing:

Ruta Sepetys, author of Between Shades of Gray and Salt to the Sea, just writes beautiful historical fiction that could just change you. I mean, her works have changed my life!

Jennifer Brody, author of The Continuum Trilogy, is an amazing sci-fi dystopian writer, and her series is my favorite book series! She surely knows how to hook you into a book as if they were movies!


Jenna from J. K. I’m Exploring

What is your go to when you’re having a bad day? Is it a specific book/ movie/ food etc?

I usually just stop whatever I’m doing and do either one of three things. Many times, I’ll just pause and pray about whatever’s bothering me and offer it up to God, which calms me down. I also play happy music, and currently it’s Eurovision winners such as “Ding-A-Dong” by Teach-In (Netherlands 1975), “Poupee de Cire, Poupee de Son” (Luxembourg 1965), “Vivo Cantando” (Spain 1969), “A-Ba-Ni-Bi” (Israel 1978) or “Tu Te Reconnaitras” (Luxembourg 1972). *Yes, I know these by name. And yes, they’re all before 2000. I just like my oldies.* I know, I don’t understand a lot of the words, but they’re just fun to sing to! I just love those European languages! Then I might pull out the book I’m currently reading, and usually it will be a light read. Nothing heavy.


Mandy from Book Princess Review

What book world would you love to get stuck in and what book world would you hate to get stuck in?

A book world I want to get stuck in: probably the magical world of Caraval! Just one time! I just want a Golden Ticket just once! It seems so fascinating to be in with all its magic!

A book world I do not want to get stuck in: the world in 1984. That world scares me a lot. I do not want to live in a world where the government controls basically everything, even your thoughts, and where you get brainwashed and terminated just for having an opinion.


Rendz from Reading with Rendz

What is your best memory from your blogging journey so far?

There’s so many it’s hard to pick one! But one of my favorites: the Southeastern Young Adult Book Festival. I met so many great authors that I met online- Shaila Patel, Jennifer M. Eaton, M. Tara Crowl, and Brittany Goodwin- and met a lot of writers who later came or are coming onto the blog- Andrew Maraniss, Monika Schroeder, Jenn Bishop, Mindy McGinnis, Tobie Easton, Kym Brunner, and more! Basically, my reading list and blogging plans for 2017 is still revolving around SE-YA!


Krysti from YA and Wine

Who is your favorite author that you’ve gotten to meet either in person or online so far?

Gosh, there’s so many. Online, it would be Jennifer Brody. She’s super amazing and wrote my favorite book series. In person, Shaila Patel. We planned meeting each other for a while at SE-YA and it was so fun to see her there!

What is next for you and the blog now?

I’m going to explain this more in a later blog post, but we’re starting the Summer of Authors, where various authors come onto our blog in fun interviews and guest posts almost every Monday and Friday throughout June and July! We have some special ones coming in June, so be on the lookout for them!


Miguel from The Quirky Reader

Which literary character do you identify yourself with the most?

I’m going to use a movie character instead because her personality is basically mine: Belle from Beauty and the Beast. She has so many similar interests that I do: we both love reading and want to explore the world. We go through similar struggles (not the part where she gets imprisoned by the Beast and falls in love with him). She’s basically me, but in a Disney princess version.


Jamie from Book Pandamonium

What’s your favorite book trope? 

I don’t have a favorite trope, per se, but I love cliffhangers! They’re the best way to end a book in a series.

Would you rather read a really short book or a really long one? 

Short, because I like to get to the next book as fast as I can. I’m a person that doesn’t like to stay on the same story for such a long time, unless I really like it.

Do you like reading multiple books at a time or just one? 

It depends. Sometimes it works because I can finish two books at once. Other times it doesn’t since I forget a ton of details. I usually don’t like to multi-read since I want to devote my attention to one at a time.


Thanks to everyone who has contributed! These questions were really fun! Also, thanks to every single person who has contributed to the blog! It truly is an amazing feeling to be blogging for such a wonderful community!

Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “LILbooKlovers 1 Year Blogoversary!: Q&A with Kester

  1. 1. I love your answer to my question! Totally wasn’t expecting her but still GREAT PICK. 😁
    2. And how could you possibly enjoy cliffhangers??? Lol you’re the only one I know who likes them. 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 1. Thanks! A lot of bibliophiles can relate to her, you know? But I feel her a lot. Plus, Beauty and the Beast is my fave Disney movie (the new one was amazing!).
      2. I know!!! It’s so unpopular! I love being hooked so that you’re like “I need the next book now!” But I can’t stand them in standalones. They have to be in series so at least I can have hope they’ll be resolved. Once, I read a trilogy that didn’t have cliffhangers for book 1 and book 2 but had one at the end of 3, and I was like “Why??? I asked you twice and now you give me one?” 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all, happy blogoversary!! ❤ ❤ ❤
    It's always so interesting to read bloggers' Q&A and yours was no exception! I'm glad you're taking things slow and keeping a positive attitude about the blogging world 🙂 Golden advice right there!
    Also, you really love Caraval, I see XD
    It's awesome to have a male perspective in a predominantly girls' world and I always enjoy our exchanges, be it on Twitter or otherwise. Unfortunately, I still haven't found the time to be as active online as I wished but I'll try to get back to it soon ^^
    Keep up the amazing work! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you!!! I’m happy that you enjoyed the Q&A! And I do love Caraval that I want a signed copy and an ARC. I normally don’t collect multiple copies but I will! I enjoy talking with you, too! And don’t worry- take your time! But I’ll be looking forward to seeing you more online. Thanks so much! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

