Summer of Authors #4: Interview with Lorna Hollifield

Hi lovelies. I have with me a wonderful author whose debut book just released today! Please welcome Lorna Hollifield, author of Tobacco Sun.


About Tobacco Sun34569128

The year is 1947. The war is over, Jackie Robinson has just integrated baseball, and Frank Sinatra breezes in over the fuzzy airwaves. A sense of relief is finally sweeping the nation…everywhere except Tobaccoville, North Carolina.

Beyond the rural fields that are pregnant with decades of secrets, a mysterious Hollywood pin-up is jailed for murder while her facially birthmarked half-sister may hold the answers as to why.

The two girls, estranged for years, share a haunting past, a shell-shocked love interest, and maybe even a cruel destiny. Through mountains of lies, the truth that inevitably comes pouring out of the tobacco leaves will come to light. Will this light reveal the path to the siblings’ foreordained destruction, or their long-awaited deliverance? Will they realize they each hold the power to set the other free before it’s too late?

A story of heritage, hurt, and somehow, hope; Tobacco Sun keeps you on the edge of your seat while you find yourself rooting for redemption.


Why do you love writing? When did you first have a love for writing, and how was it formed?

I don’t know what made me love writing, because I have ALWAYS loved it. If I had to guess, I would say it has a lot to do with my grandmother teaching me to read at a very young age. Since I could read, I’ve been writing. I was an only child for a long time, so I’d make up people to talk to. I still lead with character personalities today.

What are your favorite books, genres, and authors? Which ones have impacted you and your writing style the most?

I love a pre-teen book called Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech….it was one of the first “chapter books” I connected with, and made me want to share stories about human beings. I’m a big Fitzgerald fan just because of how fabulous it all is. I also love Toni Morrrison, Sue Monk Kidd, and Barbara Kingsolver…all representing The South well. The best book I’ve read lately is Bryn Greenwood’s, All The Ugly And Wonderful Things….fantastic coming-of-age piece!

What do you do when you’re not writing? Is writing a part-time or full-time job?

I just write for a living! For fun, I spend beach days with my husband, and pups! I also enjoy running (which I’m still surprised by), and being social. I’m not the stereo-typical shut-in at all!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Everywhere! Songs…a moving experience…one word that creates a flash. It’s a very artistic thing for me.

What do you think makes a good story?

Human beings make stories great. We are creatures meant to connect, and the intricate ways that we do that should be talked about!

What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?

I actually think it’s easy once I become the character…when that happens they don’t shut up. Knowing them to begin with is the tough part. And yes, there is a research element to it…but once I’m acquainted enough to start writing it tends to flow. I always go back and make sure I haven’t slipped back into “Lorna” at any point. I think with any character this is true. It will flow if it’s authentic.

Do you want each book to stand on its own, or are you trying to build a body of work with connections between each book?

I like stand alones. I’ve never been a fan of series. I kind of like a book to make a big powerful boom, then mike drop, and walk away. I like that when I’m reading as well.

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Write more…write always. Don’t waste brain space on safety nets or back-up plans. Go for it hard from day one and make it the ONLY option. The safest thing for the soul and the wallet is to work like hell at your passion. The best excuses are the ones that make total sense…but go with your gut.

What is your writing process like?

It looks like me in pajamas on my couch without a shower. I write when I feel the spark, and the story starts where I hear a character start talking. I usually map it out a little bit in chicken scratch in my notebook after a couple chapters have been written. I’m not super super organized…and I always feel rushed when I love the story.

Does writing energize or exhaust you?

It energizes me! I wouldn’t do it if it didn’t give me power, or make me feel like I’m influencing the world around me.

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

A writer…from the beginning. I’m getting a little bit choked up thinking that I actually did it. It’s still surreal.

Do you have any tips to any aspiring authors or writers? What are common traps for aspiring writers?

Naysayers telling you not to quit your day job. I don’t believe in safety nets. If you don’t love it enough to give it everything, you don’t love it enough. Logic will try to convince you otherwise, but if it is your true passion, let it have you. But don’t just dream…work. Write, research, network, go to conferences, beg agents, other writers, and industry big whigs to look at you. Demand your place. I was rejected for a decade…but I didn’t turn back. As long as you’re in love with your craft, never ever turn back.


About the Author

Lorna Hollifield was born in Asheville, North Carolina, but now enjoys the island life outside of Charleston, South Carolina with her husband, Kimsey, and two mutts, Scarlet and Daisy.

She’s been an author from the time she could speak, always spinning yarns for anyone who would listen.  She began her professional writing journey as a tourism and travel blogger, before finally deciding to pursue her dream of publishing fiction.  Tobacco Sun is her first novel, and she’s delighted to share it with the world!

Lorna also enjoys serving as President for the South Carolina Writers Association, and loves speaking about her craft at literary conferences and community events (especially charitable ones).

When Lorna isn’t writing fiction, she enjoys blogging about writable women at whatswriteincharleston.com!

Follow Lorna on Facebook, Twitter,  and Instagram for more updates!

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

One thought on “Summer of Authors #4: Interview with Lorna Hollifield

Leave a Reply

