Summer of Authors #6: Exclusive Interview with Pamela Schloesser Canepa

Hi guys! I hope your Summer is still going off strong! I’m going to give my predicted life updates right now! What’s funny is that I predict what’s going to happen, and then they don’t exactly go according to plan and I forget to change them. Haha, so my updates are… Well, I can’t think of anything! I’m just relaxing and having fun! Here’s another Summer of Authors interview for you: indie author Pamela Schloesser Canepa, author of Detours in Time.


About Detours in TimeDetours in Time

Feisty Tabatha, a struggling artist, and Milt, an awkward Science professor, set off on a journey to the future. What was supposed to be fun soon turns quite intense when they make discoveries about their future selves and end up on other “detours.” The two set events into action that may save one life, yet destroy another. Can these friends of completely different mindsets agree on a course of action? Can Tabatha stick to Milt’s rules of time travel? Both Milt and Tabatha struggle to witness and not participate in a place and time that is not yet their own.

Amid the backdrop of a future that reveals great wonders and horrors, Tabatha and Milt must resist the temptation to use discoveries from future technology to aid them when they return to the present. Detours in Time starts as a fantastic escape and grows to present many moral dilemmas and surprises that can either destroy the strongest friendship or bring two people closer.

Amazon | Goodreads


Pamela Schloesser Canepa

1. Why do you love writing?

I love it because it takes me out of reality and into a place I’d rather be, and if it takes me someplace horrible, I imagine myself a warrior who will conquer, no matter what.

When did you first have a love for writing, and how was it formed?

My love for writing began as a child.  I wrote stories when we traveled in the car.  My brother was too young to talk to, so I entertained myself.  My parents and other family really encouraged my writing imagination as well.  I believe it also came out my love for reading, something that was highly encouraged by my mother.

2. What are your favorite books, genres, and authors?

Books: The Help, The Martian, Auraria by Tim Westover, The Trial by James Patterson, The Stand and 11-22-63 (Stephen King), and The Monuments Men. Genre: Sci-fi and dystopian, but I like some historical fiction and non-fiction.  Authors:  Laurie Notaro (humor) Stephen King (Horror and sci-fi), Phillip K. Dick (sci-fi).

Which ones have impacted you and your writing style the most?

I’m sure Stephen King inspired my imagination, but James Patterson likely impacted my writing style the most.  He is a master of dialogue and short chapters.  I also admire the way he can write from a male or female perspective.

3. What do you do when you’re not writing?

I spend time with family, including my beloved dog.  He was a shelter dog.  I call him part tramp and part prince.  I also like the beach and try to do yoga.  Movies are another favorite.  I am involved with some volunteering through my church as well.

Is writing a part-time or full-time job?

It is a part-time job.  Perhaps someday it can support me and lead me into retirement!

4. Your newest book Detours in Time just released last Friday June 16th, and it follows an artist and a science professor who travel through time but encounter various challenges along the way that endanger their relationship. What inspired you to make the characters travel through the future? Detours in Time

I was responding to a prompt on a writing site. I’ve always loved time travel stories and movies!

How did you approach incorporating time travel into your book? 

I focused mostly on what you would see and experience, the wonder and the horror of it.  Take, for example, things like body modification.  It’s real life.  Our parents have seen great changes in the use of body modification, so I made that a step more intense.

5. If you could time travel to any period in history, where would you go and what would you do?

I’d go to the 1940s and frequent some dance halls!  Of course, I couldn’t interact too much, could I?  Can’t start a paradox!  I’d also like to go to the 1960s and see what that was like.  It’s a toss-up, because now I’m thinking the 1920s would be great, too!Made for Me

6. You also wrote Made for Me, a novella that revolves around Abrielle, who uses a futuristic dating app that leads her to Sampson, who is more than meets the eye. If you were in Abrielle’s position, what would you do, without giving any major spoilers away?

I’d probably do exactly what she did, because he is practically the perfect man!

7. Who was your favorite character/POV to write in your Made for Me series and why?

Norrie was definitely my favorite character and POV in the Made for Me series!  That’s because she grows up in the first book, and she explores her identity in the second, and she becomes such a bold character who is everything I wish I was in my early twenties.  It’s such a pivotal time, growing up and then working through young adulthood, so there was so much I could do with her character.

8. How is it like being an indie author? PamClose-up2Sept.16.85450895F164

It is a challenge, it’s a hobby just like starving artistry, and it is work if you want to continue being an author. People act thrilled when they find out what you’ve done, but how many of them have actually read the book?  Wait, you mean I have to ASK them to read my book?  I’m still learning, to be honest.

What are some of the benefits and challenges you’ve encountered in your self-publishing journey? 

Some that I mentioned in the last sentence, and beyond that, you don’t get promoted on Amazon until you have 50 reviews, so getting there is probably the hardest part.  Realizing you can do book giveaways in hopes of more reviews, although I had to spend a lot of time in forums learning those things.  It’s trial and error.  Benefits:  Some people really respect what I’ve done.  I also respect myself.  Many people have not done what I’ve done, and I’ve met one of my bucket list goals.  That warms my heart.

9. What is it about the romance genre that attracts you as a reader and a writer?

I’ll be honest, many readers of the romance genre want something that follows a formula, and I’m not down with that formula.  I like sci-fi, and I like romance, so I mixed the two.  Yet, if you look for sci-fi romance books you’ll find something very different from what I write.  I may not even label my books as romance in the future.  I like to place my female lead in a self-empowering role, and if that means she encounters romance, then it is secondary.  I do like to read romance, but only when the woman is in an empowered place.

10. What is your go-to cure for writer’s block?

A nice walk with the dog.  Exercise, yoga.

11. Have you written any other works?

I published an endearing short story that is free on Smashwords called From “Lost to Loved, A Stray Dog’s Tale” this Spring.  Can you guess who it’s about?  It’s about 20 pages long, and in it, I imagined my dog’s life until the day he met us.  I know he was loved by someone, and I know he was a lost dog for a while.  It was interesting to imagine his story.

What can we expect from you in the future?

I may publish some paranormal stories, and I plan to write another installment of Norrie’s story, since we don’t yet know the full truth of her lineage.  I also plan to write a sequel to Detours in Time.  I started writing it during NANOWRIMO while Detours was being edited.  There is certainly more to come!

12. Do you have any tips to any aspiring authors or writers?

Read a lot.  Start blogging.  You will meet a lot of writers that way and learn of writing forums which will help you even if all you do is observe.  Blogging is great, since you will run across prompts that will help you hone your skill.  Write a lot.  Then start perfecting it.  Don’t be afraid to show it to people.  Their feedback is important, but be true to yourself.  It’s important to keep a balance there.

Thank you so much, Pamela, for coming onto the blog!


About the AuthorPamClose-up2Sept.16.85450895F164

Pamela had a childhood full of travel and moving, and started writing poems and stories as a child to provide entertainment for long trips. After a while, her family settled in the southeast. Writing provided an outlet for private thoughts and emotions for years, until she decided she was ready to share her ideas with the world. Pamela’s genres include science fiction, realistic fiction, and poetry of all types. “Made for Me” is Pamela’s first published work of fiction. A sequel has just been released, and Pamela is working on editing a full-length time travel novel for publication in e-book and print, hopefully in the next year!

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Blog


Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

Do you have any thoughts or questions?

Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Email | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

 

2 thoughts on “Summer of Authors #6: Exclusive Interview with Pamela Schloesser Canepa

Leave a Reply

