Brooding YA Hero Challenge: All About Sequels!

33799449Hi guys! I am officially a member of Broody’s BFFs, the street team for Brooding YA Hero’s next book! Broody and I are great buds, and I’m so excited to hang out with him in his upcoming book, which is by Carrie Ann DiRisio. He is such an amazing and hilarious person, and if you’re not following him already, go check out his Twitter account @BroodingYAHero. Seriously, he will make your day, because he’s Broody. That’s what he’s supposed to do to the main protagonist and then later make her hate him. Make sure you check out his book on Goodreads here!

So this week’s challenge is all about sequels! Here are some of my favorite and most anticipated sequels! First, my favorite sequel of all time…


My #1 Favorite Sequel of All Time

A Time to Speak (Time to Die #2) by Nadine Brandes24466484

Because of ATtS, I could finally see why so many people are raving about the series. I did not like the first book, but when I got to the second one, I was blown away. It was better than the first one in so many ways, and I didn’t want it to end. It was a very long book, yet I savored each and every chapter. You know how hard it is for me not to want a book to end? Rare. I could not put it down, and I loved every single part of this book and every single second I read it. This book is so amazing that I recommend it a lot. No, a ton! Nadine is an amazing author, and I’m super excited to continue the series in book 3!


Now onto my most anticipated sequels!

Top 7 Most Anticipated Sequels

#7 – Starswept #2 by Mary Fana0258-starswept-8002bcover2breveal2band2bpromotional

I recently finished Starswept and I was so blown away by the eloquence and the world-building. I felt super connected to Iris, the main character, because we share a big love for music. It was such an amazing adventure that I enjoyed every single second of reading it. I love it when a book has its own ARC, so you can’t just stop at the first one. I know I can’t because Starswept is definitely one of my favorite books of 2017, and I want a hardcover because the cover is so gorgeous!

#6 – Submerge (Emerge #2) by Tobie Easton33299927

Ahh, Emerge was one heck of a ride! Tobie’s got me hyped for the second book because there’s going to be more romance and suspense. Ooh! After the events of book one unfolded, which had a ton of twists and turns, there’s so many questions that still need to be answered! I need answers! Plus, it’s mermaids! Who doesn’t like mermaids? This was definitely a great retelling/continuation of The Little Mermaid, and I’m definitely going to be looking out for more news on the sequel. Plus the cover is gorgeous! It tells me there’s going to be more underwater scenes, which I’m super excited for!

#5 – Soulmated #2 by Shaila Patelsoulmated_shailapatel_1600x2400_seriestitle

Soulmated was definitely one of the best romances I have read, and Shaila packed a cliffhanger at the end. She left me hanging! That’s why I need book two because I want to know what happens next. Laxshmi and Liam is one of my favorite OTPs because they’re relationship was just so cute! It was hilarious at moments, and I loved the diversity. (Plus, Liam’s Irish accent is super funny!) This is definitely a series I’m going to keep on the lookout for, and I’m super excited to read book 2!

#4 – The Dragons of Nova (Loom Saga #2) by Elise Kovac9228-the2bdragons2bof2bnova2bcover2b

Honestly, I wasn’t a big fan of the first book. Reading The Alchemists of Loom in a read along where you had to read only a couple of chapters a day made me lose interest, but I did win both a pre-order and a signed ARC of this book, so I’m looking forward to reading it. I really hope Dragons pulls off an A Time to Speak because I’ve read series where the books get progressively worse and then series where it gets progressively better. Sequels aren’t usually the best books you read, but if the first one starts off rocky, there’s a lot of room to make it astound you.

#3 – These Ruthless Deeds (These Vicious Masks #2) by Tarun Shanker and Kelly ZekasTRD

These Vicious Masks is one of my favorite reads of 2017. I mean, it is super thrilling! It’s as if I were watching an X-Men movie that was sent in Victorian London! And you know me with books that I loved so much: I have to read the sequel! And I need to know what happens to Evelyn and who she chooses: Braddock or Kent. I’m not too big of a fan of love triangles (some of them are so leaning upon one character that it’s too predictable), but this one I can’t get enough of!

#2 – Lost Crow Conspiracy (Blood Rose Rebellion #2) by Rosalyn Eves35386010

Even though Blood Rose Rebellion is not my favorite book, it is one of my top fantasy series, especially since it’s set in mid-1800s Hungary! It’s a historical fantasy; I couldn’t miss that! Regardless, I loved BRR a lot, and it even fostered a new love for the country of Hungary! I’m super excited that Rosalyn is releasing a sequel soon (the synopsis sounds fantastic by the way), and Knopf approved me a few weeks ago for an ARC! My first ARC approval from an email I sent to a publisher! Woo hoo! I’m super excited for this sequel!(Plus, that cover is gorgeous!)

#1 – Caraval #2 by Stephanie Garber27883214

So this book is still untitled and doesn’t yet have a synopsis, but it’s Caraval! Stephanie left me hanging with her first book, which dazzled me so much I actually want to jump in and stay in Caraval for a long time. Who’s POV will it be? What will happen with Scarlett and Julian, who are the best fictional couple ever? Will we see more of you know who, if you have read the book? What is he/she going to do now? I so want an ARC of this book. Caraval is pretty much one of my top three #1 favorite books (I feel like putting Caraval, Salt to the Sea, and The United Continuums over each other does a disrespect to each one.)


What are your favorite sequels? Which ones do you think are better than the first? Comment below your thoughts, and let’s chat!

Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

Do you have any thoughts or questions?

Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Contact | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

 

7 thoughts on “Brooding YA Hero Challenge: All About Sequels!

  1. Those first two book covers and the fourth! HEART them.

    You raised the question “who doesn’t like mermaids” and I have to shamelessly (or shamefully? hmm) admit hat I don’t, haha. Ariel’s never been my thing. I don’t understand what’s so interesting about someone in a fish tail *shrugs* 😉

    I do think I might put A Time To Speak, Starswept and Soulmated onto my TBR list. I’ve never heard of them before but you did make them sound compelling enough for me to care! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

