The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

“I’ve lost control of everything, even the places in my head.”

When I bought this book, I was in Florida. So I did not get the memo that my parents already had this book. Apparently they gave it off to my cousin. Welp, I just bought it again.

the girl on the train

SYNOPSIS

EVERY DAY THE SAME
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

UNTIL TODAY
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Paula Hawkins is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkinswhich was made into a major motion picture. Her new novel of psychological suspense, Into The Water, is coming May 2.

 

 

 

On Goodreads I gave this book a five out of five. In some ways, I really want to make it a four out of five. There’s a little part of me that feels a bit off. Can’t quite explain what it is… maybe it was the frustration that I found myself having throughout the story. But I like books that make me give me emotional instability (lol okay…).

5 Stars

First off I really want to talk about the frustration noted above. I am not very accustomed to reading about characters who are…so flawed in their nature, I guess. You have an alcoholic, you have a liar, a cheater… and it does not end there. Just the decisions that a lot of the characters made were not exactly what I would call the “right” ones. It made me so mad to sit here and watch their lives fall apart. And Anna’s personality… I had to put the book down sometimes and scream into a pillow. She was the most aggravating out of all of them. But that’s what made them so unique and fun to read about! I really appreciate how different every character was, and how their flaws shaped the story of The Girl on the Train.

I just want to point out my favorite character was Kamal, and I honestly wish it wasn’t.

The story itself was astonishing. Hawkins did an outstanding job at pulling you away from the truth. The ending was so unexpected. Throughout the reading, I was constantly changing who I thought was the killer. The words twisted you around and around. It felt you confused and wanting more. It left you needing to know who did it, who killed who, who did what. It was the latest gossip murder scene!

I recommend this to people who are in the need of a mystery. This is definitely something for you. The characters are super interesting, don’t get me wrong when I say they are annoying sometimes. They are different from anything I have ever read. I liked Rachel, but also understood why everyone around her thought she was crazy. Just stuff where I kind of liked them, and also understood why others don’t. It’s very important that you are open-minded when reading this due to this.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  1. OOO wow – I love the way you described Girl on the Train. I’ve been on the edge about this book just because I’ve noticed that usually when books are made into movies, something seems to be somehow taken away from the pleasure of reading the original book.
    I have, however been in desperate need of a thrilling mystery. I read The Circle in the begining of June thinking that since it was made into a major motion picture starring Emma Watson, it must be good…. WRONG! It was terrible and lead me into the hugest reading slump ever! However, I just finished reading When Dimple Met Rishi and all is well in the world again 🙂
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future Cayli… Happy July Reading 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

