The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh! Book Review

School is back in session, folks! What best to kick it off but with a review!

I can’t believe I have not reviewed this book yet. I finished it not too long ago, but long enough to be in the middle of another book.

Let’s get straight to it, because I can’t wait to talk about everything.

My rating…


I have so many positive things about this book, it’s actually on my top thirty. When I found out in the middle of the book that there is a second book and it’s not a standalone… I started freaking out because I don’t have that second book. That’s a major problem.

The plot was straight to the point. Forget going through the reason why Shazi was there, she was just there. And I like my books starting off strong like that. It really pulls me in. Frankly, I am more likely to put down a book when I feel like I’m wasting my time. Sorry, but it’s true. The starting of a story is always the hardest becaue I love action.

Shazi was great. I really dug her character. A part of me was a bit salty about her attitude in the beginning. I don’t know, just her being overly prideful I think what was getting to me. But over time, I came to love her through and through. She really has that independent woman vibe.

Khalid… oh, Khalid, Khalid, Khalid…

I liked Tariq in the beginning. I really did even though I knew he was going to get in the way of Shazi and Khalid… I didn’t expect a full out war. ;-;

Jalal was my favorite. Like when they said he had purple hair, I immediately knew he was going to be my favorite. And it’s not like he’s the hot, mean one. He’s super caring even when he doesn’t admit it. He’s always there for Shazi. To me, Khalid is Shazi’s Tariq, and Jalal is Shazi’s Rahim.

I expect a lot out of the next book The Rose and the Dagger. 

I’m soooo exciteedd!!! It’s been awhile since I’ve read such an entertaining fantasy story. I really miss romantic plots and ugggghh this is exactly what I need.

 

I am almost done with Divinity Bureau by Tessa Clare! I’ve seen reviews on this book, and I’m excited to share my thoughts with the rest of the reading community.

 

7 thoughts on “The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh! Book Review

Leave a Reply

