Exclusive Interview with Maggie Ann Martin, Debut Author of The Big F!

Hi guys! Today on the blog, I am interviewing debut author Maggie Ann Martin about her book The Big F, which looks really cool and awesome! I’ve heard many great things about this book, and you don’t want to miss it! What’s really special is that it is releasing TOMORROW from Swoon Reads! So go pre-order or order it right now because you want to read this book!


About The Big F30046340

Danielle effed up. Big time.

Danielle’s plans for the future were pretty easy to figure out… until she failed senior English and her single college application was denied. Suddenly she’s in hot water with very few options, because honestly who applies to a safety school when their mom is a semi-famous “college psychic”?!

Determined to get her life back on track, Danielle enrolls in her hometown community college with a plan: pass her English class and get back into Ohio State and her mother’s good graces. Romance isn’t on her radar… until she reconnects with her childhood crush and golden-boy-next-door, Luke.

Between family drama, first love and finding her own way, Danielle can’t help but feel a little overwhelmed. Thankfully she has her friendship with the snarky and frustratingly attractive Porter, her coworker at the campus bookstore, to push her to experience new things and help keep her afloat.

One thing’s for sure: This time, failure’s not an option.


Maggie Ann Martin

1. Why do you love writing? When did you first have a love for writing, and how was it formed?

I’ve loved writing since I was little! Growing up, there were these story ideas always bouncing around in my head, and when I couldn’t find a book that I wanted to read that focused on a topic that I was interested, I wrote it.

2. What are your favorite books, genres, and authors? Which ones have impacted you and your writing style the most?

My first love was definitely fantasy because of my love for the Harry Potter books. I really got into contemporary books after I read Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins and have been hooked on the genre ever since. I love that in contemporary books, you get to see the real world that you inhabit through a new person’s perspective.

3. What do you do when you’re not writing? Is writing a part-time or full-time job?

When I’m not writing, I’m a social media community manager at Sculpt. The short description of my job is that I get to Tweet, Facebook, Instagram, Snap (you name the social media channel, we’re probably on it) for my clients. It’s pretty rad. MaggieAnnMartin2

4. Your debut novel The Big F follows the story of Danielle who is denied acceptance into the only college that she applied, which her “college psychic” mom chose for her, and has to work to get back into Ohio State. What is your most memorable or most hilarious moment from high school that you would like to share with us?

I was such a rule follower in high school! I don’t think I have anything particularly outlandish or hilarious that happened to me, but I did value my friendships. I was a super proud band nerd (still am, band nerds unite), was involved with the school paper, and did all of the school plays that I could possibly be in. I think I was too overbooked for anything wild to happen to me! Ha!

5. What would you do if you were in Danielle’s position where you could not get into the only college that you applied to?

I would hope I would be as pragmatic as she is. I function the best when I have a plan, so if one plan goes awry, I need to make a new one, pronto.

6. Did you base any of Danielle’s struggles or experiences off any you’ve went through in the past? Do you see yourself in your protagonist in any way?

I related to the feelings she had about the pressure to figure out her future so soon. I wrote THE BIG F while I was a college student, so a lot of her feelings and new first experiences matched up with mine as well.

7. Out of all the characters in the book, which one was your favorite to write and why?

Tough! It’s a tie between Porter (swoon) and Zoe, Danielle’s best friend. She has some of the best one-liners in the book.

8. Why do you, in your bio, call your alma mater the University of Iowa “the most welcoming literary community in the world?” What was your experience like going there?

I love Iowa City and the University of Iowa! So much so that I decided to stay here after I graduated to work here. Iowa City is this wonderful hub of creative and talented people that come from around the world. It’s Iowa’s unexpected gem.

300463409. Since the letter F is very prominent your book, describe yourself in five words that only start with F.

Forgiving, friendly, fierce, fabulous, fun!

10. Whenever you have a case of writer’s block, how do you go about curing it?

I’m heavily inspired by the music I listen to, so if I’m having a case of writer’s block, I go on a hunt for new music. That always sparks some new ideas inside of me.

11. Your next book Our Kaleidoscope Hearts is slated to be released next year by Swoon Reads. What is it about? Would you like to share any secrets about it?

Sure! One secret that’s not so secret is that the title will be changing. Depending on when this blog goes up, the new title will be up on the Swoon Reads blog. This book follows Savannah who has just dropped her older sister off for her freshman year of college. She’s now going to be home alone with her mother, who has just gotten off of an extreme weight-loss reality show. Savannah’s mom is not only obsessed with her own weight, but now Savannah’s weight as a result.

12. Do you have any tips to any aspiring authors or writers?

I feel like this advice gets passed around a lot, but READ ALL THE TIME! Read in your genre you’d like to write in, and take a step out of your reading comfort zone once and a while. You’ll learn from the books that you love and the books that you don’t enjoy.

Thanks so much, Maggie, for coming onto the blog! Congrats on the new release!


About the Author

Maggie Ann Martin hails from Iowa City, Iowa but moonlights as a New Yorker. She has a shiny new BA in English and Journalism from the University of Iowa, the most welcoming literary community in the world. When she is not writing, you can find her binge watching TV shows or passionately fangirling over fictional characters on the Internet. The Big F is her debut novel.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube | Goodreads


Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

Are you excited about The Big F? Do you love YA Contemporary?

Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Contact | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin

 

9 thoughts on “Exclusive Interview with Maggie Ann Martin, Debut Author of The Big F!

Leave a Reply

