The First Ever LILbooKchat!: What It Means to be a Teen Book Blogger

Hi guys! As you know, I am starting my junior year of high school. That means two more years before college, but it also means one of the hardest years of high school. I know I’m going to be more busy with homework and extracurricular activities, so it got me thinking, “What does it mean to be a teen book blogger?” Because I am starting a monthly discussion bit, I thought this would be the perfect topic for my first ever LILbooKchat! I hope you enjoy!

So what does it mean to be a teen book blogger?

For me, it’s summed up in three words: School, Extracurriculars, and Time.

As a student still in high school, I am very busy throughout the year. This year, I am going to have classes that are going to be very challenging for me. That means a lot of homework each and every night. Whether it is going to be a page of problems for my Honors PreCalculus to reading and writing about a book for my AP US History and English III class, I am going to be focusing my attention towards academics first. It is going to be my number one priority. I’ll be prioritizing studying for an AP test rather than trying to finish my latest ARC.

And then there’s extracurriculars. I’m a member of multiple clubs and organizations in school, and my resolution is to be very active in them, which means that reading and blogging will have to take a back seat sometimes. I love blogging, and I do count it as an extracurricular, but it’s not going to be my number one priority. I want to make it again to my regional Honor Choir, and I’ll be working hard to get in again. I want to make my school’s DECA chapter more active and I want to win my state competition, so I’ll be focusing a lot on studying and brainstorming fundraisers and events and practices. Being a teen blogger means juggling both homework and extracurriculars to finding the right balance.

As much as I love blogging, and as much as I will still stick to my twice-a-week posting schedule, blogging for me is not going to be the number one thing in my life. As a high school student, there’s a lot of other things I need to prioritize to not only get myself the best education as possible, but also to make best use of the opportunities I have before me. I am not going to have the time to read two or three books a week, but that’s okay for me. I know that sometimes I need to do my homework and club work before I pick up whatever I’m reading right now. I’m not going to have the time like I had this Summer to devote to blogging and reading, but it’s still going to be a big part of my life. However, I’m going to have to keep it in the backseat at times when life becomes really busy.

So how can you, as either a blogger or an author or a reader, better understand us teen bloggers? There’s many ways.

The number one thing is to be patient. I know that I might not get to your book for a long time because there’s so many books I get and I have to prioritize those with deadlines. If I don’t get your book read right away, it’s probably because I’m so logged with school work and other club-related activities that I am too busy to read or write a blog post. It makes me happy to see an author okay if it takes me a while to review because it lets me know that they know that I’m busy. This summer I got backtracked with a ton of reviews, so if ever am super busy, at least I have many posts to choose from to post that week.

Another thing is to support teen bloggers. It is hard for us teens to really shine a lot in the YA community because some of us don’t have a lot of experience while others don’t have a lot of time or money to devote into blogging. For me, I’m in a geographical position where I cannot go to events such as BookCon or YALLFest, and the closest indie bookstore (Parnassus in Nashville) is two hours away- and sadly most events are on weekdays. Teen bloggers need as much help and support as they can get because there are not too many teens in the blogosphere, especially ones that have made it big.

So that’s what it means to be a teen blogger, and I hope that this post helps you get a better understanding at where we teens are in regards to school, extracurriculars, financial situations, geographical locations, etc. We need as much help as we can get because sometimes the blogosphere and the YA community can seem overwhelming and daunting at times. Teen bloggers are an important part of the YA community, and they need as much support as possible!


Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

What do you think it means to be a teen blogger?

Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Email| Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “The First Ever LILbooKchat!: What It Means to be a Teen Book Blogger

  1. Great post! I love that you are a teen blogger and devote your time to this despite all the other pressures on you! As a writer, I’d love to support teen bloggers any way I can! I wish I knew more teen bloggers 🙂
    Good luck this year!
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As an adult, I LOVE THIS POST. Thank you so much for speaking up. I wasn’t into blogging when I was in high school, but I know how little time I had to focus on things I wanted to be doing. You’re absolutely right that teen bloggers have to prioritize academics.

    This post really got me thinking: how can blogging interact with schooling? I know when I was in college, I wasn’t reading much outside of school requirements. My Goodreads was pretty much exclusively devoted to the books I read for lit classes. But those books still impacted me, and I’d argue that anything you read in school could still be something that you could include in your blogging. I know I wish I’d written more about some of the things I encountered in my high school classes, even if just a blurb on what I thought about certain texts we read. As someone who’s been out of high school for a while, I’m honestly a little curious about what you guys are reading for school, how requirements have changed or not in the past (gasp) decade. Just some thoughts.

    I wish you the best of luck with your junior year. Don’t forget to enjoy all those extra activities. And don’t stress too much about the future 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much for this lovely comment! I love your idea of incorporating school into blogging; it might be a neat discussion topic to include in the future. This year I am reading a lot of American literature (TKAM, Gatsby, Scarlet Letter, Little Women) for AP English because it will be tied into my AP US History course, but that might be the perfect topic for my next topic. As much I love the classics, I do believe we need more modern works in curriculum but a good mixture of past and present works. Thank you so much for your support! I will keep your kind advice in mind! 🙂

      Like

  3. Thank you Kester… you’re an inspiration!! It’s amazing that with everything you have on your plate, you still make time for this and it’s wonderful how you support others… teen bloggers and authors 🙂 Everyone is richer for your dedication and commitment. Have fun in your first year of high school; this time never comes around again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you, Alex! That means so much coming from you! Yes, it is definitely a big time struggle but it is a fruitful one. I am so glad I get to help out authors like you! And I’m actually a Junior this year, so I have two more years of high school left! I’ll certainly have fun since I can only be in high school once! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

