E-ARC Review: Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Hi guys! Today, a solar eclipse is going to happen right over my home here in Tennessee! Woo hoo! A lot of my friends around the state are going to watch it, and I am super excited! To celebrate, why not post my review of a sci-fi book that is beyond the stars? Nyxia is obviously the best choice! In addition, in a few weeks, I am going to have the author of Nyxia, the wonderful Scott Reintgen, on the blog, so be on the lookout for that.


About the Book27426044

Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.

Forever.

Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden–a planet that Babel has kept hidden–where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.

But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.

Goodreads


5 Stars

Disclaimer: I received a free electronic ARC copy of this book from the publisher through Penguin First to Read in exchange for an honest review. This will not affect my review in any way.

Nyxia was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017, and I literally ran to my computer when I found out that it was on Penguin First to Read. Let me tell you, this series is going to be amazing. I have really high hopes for it, which means a lot. I really needed this book because I was in a slump of average/good (but not amazeballs level) novels, and this got me out of it. Nyxia is going to be one of the best YA releases of Fall 2017. I won’t be surprised if it hits the bestseller lists like The New York Times Bestsellers; I’m actually anticipating and hoping it will. You just need to read this book. It was a roller coaster of emotions and events, and although I could predict a few things, there was still so many surprises in store. For a book I had really high expectations, it did not disappoint, which shows how amazing it was.

I was fascinated with Reintgen’s world-building from the first chapter. From the troubled characters and their pasts to the futuristic spaceship of Genesis-11 and Babel Corporation, I just wanted to know more and more about everything. Nyxia definitely captures your attention with futuristic technology and the substance of Nyxia, which I find really cool yet spooky. How the competition worked was such a fascinating concept. I can’t wait to see how the author will construct the planet of Eden in the next installment!

I also love the characters so much, and I wanted most of them to make it. It’s like you just want to give them all a big hug at the same time. I was rooting so hard for Emmett, Bilal, Jaime, Jazzy, Katsu, Azima, and Kaya to make it (plus Longwei, even if I didn’t like him at times). It’s such a diverse cast of characters from all around the world with different ethnicities from different countries. Each of them is so unique and broken in their own way that you just love them all. And surprisingly, I didn’t get confused with who was who! The author makes each character so memorable and distinguishable you won’t be confused with who’s who.

Although I was able to predict a few outcomes, I was still shocked and surprised nonetheless. There’s so much that you can’t expect that it feels so thrilling. I just could not put this book down because I was on the edge of my seat the entire time! There’s so many secrets lurking among the characters throughout the book that it’s like a treasure trove of them! I didn’t see so many things coming, and I was thrusted onto a roller coaster of emotions with Emmett. I could feel his passion and drive for success yet the conflicting feelings inside of him.

I so need book two right now. That ending was just “Whoo!” I need more! I am definitely look forward to the sequel, which greatly shows how much I loved the book and am anticipating the series. Nyxia is a sci-fi thriller that will enrapture you from page one, bringing you through a roller coaster of suspense, surprises, and secrets. It’s one of my favorite sci-fi reads of the year, and it will stick out as one of the top Fall 2017 releases! Nyxia is a book that you don’t want to miss!


Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

Have you read Nyxia yet? What are your thoughts?

Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Email| Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “E-ARC Review: Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Leave a Reply

