E-ARC Review: The Star Wars Rings by Tomas Pueyo Brochard

Hi guys! My Fall Break is almost coming to an end (aww), but I was able to catch up on quite a few things I needed to attend to! Tomorrow, I am planning to go to the Southern Festival of Books in Nashville to see some amazing authors from Victoria Schwab to Alan Gratz (who we actually had on the blog earlier this year!). Today, I have a special review in store for you, and if you’re a Star Wars fan, you’ll certainly love this book!


About the Book36195587

Why is Star Wars one of the most famous franchises in history? Why did George Lucas create a ground-breaking original trilogy and underwhelming prequels? Why do the Star Wars movies feel familiar and surprising at the same time? Can we predict what will happen in the next Star Wars movies?

The answer to all these questions is an ancient pattern used by some of the most famous and successful stories in history, from the Bible, to Harry Potter, to Star Wars: the Ring Structure.

In this book, you will understand what’s special about Ring Structure and how to spot it. You will see the Ring Structure reflected in other famous stories. You will learn how Star Wars applied the Ring Structure as a blueprint for its plots, characters, events, politics, or even colors. In the process, you will discover the historic ambition of the Star Wars saga, why its story is not as simple as it seems, why it’s so ground-breaking, and why it’s been so successful.

With that newfound power, you will be able to predict what will happen in the next installments. Like a Jedi, you will predict the future movies. May that Force be with you.

Goodreads


4 Stars

Disclaimer: I received a free e-ARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This will not affect my review in any way.

How would I describe my reaction as I read this book? Mind-blown! The Star Wars Rings is an enlightening epitome on one of the world’s most beloved movie franchises and its hidden, yet carefully executed and thought-out structure. I chose to read and review this book because I thought that it would help me analyze stories better, especially the classics I have to read in my AP English Language class, and it definitely was a right choice. It has changed the way how I read books and watch movies, and it certainly has made me love literature even more!

The Star Wars Rings explains to readers what a ring is, what composes one, and how they are present in the Star Wars franchise. Before I go on with my review, I need to explain what exactly is a ring (for those of you who are not familiar with the concept). A ring, in basic terms, is a pattern of recurring fractals (repeating themes or images) placed in a chiastic structure (a mirrored repetition of these fractals). However, rings do not stop there: they can span anything from small chapters to the entire series, and there can be multiple small rings within a larger ring itself.

For example, in Star Wars, the Prequel Trilogy follows almost the exact same ring as the Original Trilogy while both are parts of another huge ring. Have you noticed the stark similarities with the trilogies? In movies 1 and 4, both Anakin and Luke start off as poor boys on a desert planet, later meet a mentor who gets killed, join the rebels, and aid in destroying the enemy ship. And this was NOT by accident–it was all perfectly thought out.

Are you confused? Well, Brochard explains it much better than me, which is why you should get this book!

Since reading this book, I’m now seeing rings and chiastic (mirror) structures in many of the books I read. It definitely helped me not only to learn more about the intricacy of the Star Wars movies, but it also changed the way I analyze novels and movies. The Star Wars Rings taught me so much about storytelling in general, from the six types of stories and the Syd Field paradigm to the Hero’s Journey and the chiastic structure. Now I get super excited whenever I get to use this new knowledge to the test! In The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne (which I’m reading right now for AP English Language), I saw the chiastic structure Brochard talked about and jumped with glee(not literally). It feels exhilarating now to analyze story structure very carefully!

The book is also super well-organized and easy to follow! The arguments for the Ring Theory are so well-researched and thought-out that by the end of the book you’re going to be agreeing with virtually everything Brochard says! (I do have one or two small objections to a few details, though, but it’s not anything major.) The author keeps you entertained from page one with gripping graphics and an engaging voice! This is not one of those long, boring textbook-style nonfiction reads that will bore you; you could read this all in one sitting and still love it! 

I would certainly recommend this to friends, fellow Star Wars lovers, and English teachers! It’s an entire lesson on storytelling that will surely leave you with something once you complete the book! The Star Wars Rings certainly has fostered in me a greater love for Star Wars but also an even stronger passion for literature! I love seeing how clever authors are in writing the structures of some of the world’s best novels, from the Harry Potter series to The Scarlet Letter! Brochard has now put me on an adventure to uncover more rings and mirrors in many books I read and movies I watch. Certainly, The Star Wars Rings will change how you view literature and film!


Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

What do you think of the Ring Structure of the Star Wars movies? Are you a Star Wars fan?

Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Email | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin

 

One thought on “E-ARC Review: The Star Wars Rings by Tomas Pueyo Brochard

Leave a Reply

