The Color of Lies by C. J. Lyons Blog Tour: An Interview with The New York Times Bestselling Author + GIVEAWAY!

Hi guys! I haven’t had an interview on my blog for quite a bit, so I’m super happy to welcome The New York Times bestselling author C. J. Lyons today to talk about her latest YA thriller with heart The Color of Lies as part of the book’s blog tour! I hope you enjoy!

The Color of Lies Blog Tour.jpg


About the BookThe Color of Lies

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons comes The Color of Lies, a world drenched in color and mystery.

High school senior Ella Cleary has always been good at reading people. Her family has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses—her Gram Helen sees every sound, and her uncle Joe can literally taste words. Ella’s own synesthesia manifests itself as the ability to see colors that reveal people’s true emotions…until she meets a guy she just can’t read.

Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life. That is, until he reveals the real reason why he sought her out—he wants to learn the truth behind her parents’ deaths, the parents that Ella had always been told died in a fire. Alec turns Ella’s world upside down when he tells her their deaths were definitely not an accident.

After learning her entire life has been a lie, Ella doesn’t know who she can trust or even who she really is. With her adoptive family keeping secrets and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer.

Perfect for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, Ally Carter, and Jennifer Brown, The Color of Lies blurs the lines between black-and-white facts and the kaleidoscope of reality.

Goodreads

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound | Book Depository


C. J. Lyons Interview

Your latest YA thriller The Color of Lies follows a teen girl with color synesthesia who finds out that her parents did not die in a fire but were murdered. After learning this shocking revelation, she tries to uncover secrets about her family’s past, but she does not know who to trust or what to believe. What inspired you to incorporate synesthesia into the genetics of Ella’s family? Could you describe to us the research process you used regardless this condition? Have you had any personal experiences encountering synesthesia in you or in other people?

The Color of LiesAs a physician, I’ve long been fascinated by unique medical oddities such as synesthesia. It’s not a disease, but rather the way the brain processes information is mistranslated into other senses. You may see letters as colors or smell words you read.

People with synesthesia experience the world differently, which is not only fascinating, it makes for an intriguing character—especially since we all base our idea of reality on what we see, hear, feel. For people with synesthesia, their reality is already very different than people who don’t have synesthesia, so if we upset that reliance on what is seen, felt, or heard, how do we know what’s real and what isn’t?

Start playing with people’s perception of reality, of their basic, essential truth, and you open up a world of possibilities for a story.

Also, many people with synesthesia don’t even know they have it–it’s simply how they see the world and they think everyone experiences it the same way. These include some famous artists such as Kandinsky, Tori Amos, Duke Ellington, Billy Joel, Franz Liszt, Vincent Van Gogh, and Bob Dylan, among others. About 4% of the population are estimated to have some form of synesthesia (about twice as many as those who have red hair), so it’s actually fairly common.

I have friends who have it—one is a musician who sees the notes she plays as color and light, another hears colors… I myself have what may be a mild form (or maybe it’s just a symptom of my overactive imagination!). I can taste recipes for food I’ve never eaten before just by reading them.

Before you became an author and a New York Times bestseller, you worked as a pediatric ER doctor. How has your career as an ER doctor influenced you as a writer? What moved you to make the jump from medicine to writing?

I’ve been a writer all my life—I wrote my first book, a YA fantasy (it was awful, lol!) when I was fifteen and wrote two SF novels while in med school. Writing has always been my way of understanding the chaos that surrounds us all.

My medical career has had a huge influence on my writing. Not only has it given me the opportunity to see behind the curtain of real life and death situations, it also taught me the discipline necessary to achieve my dream of being published.

When I left medicine to write full time, it was a huge leap of faith—only a very small percentage of writers can make a full time career of it. But at the time I had two book contracts (with all the deadlines and hard work that entails) and realized I couldn’t continue to give both my patients and my writing 120% of my energy.

I saved up enough money to take a sabbatical from medicine to give my writing a chance, telling myself that I could return to medicine if the writing didn’t work out.

That was thirteen years and forty-four books ago and I’ve never regretted my choice. With almost two and a half million books sold, I’ve been able to touch more lives with my writing than I ever could seeing one patient at a time.

As the author of over 40 novels, you’ve called your books “thrillers with heart.” Could you describe to us what that means and how you first coined that term?

As an ER doctor, I’ve been privileged to see people on the best day and the worst day of their lives. My experiences taught me that heroes are born everyday and that everyday, normal people can find the courage to stand up and make a difference.

I want to tell their stories as best I can and this is where the “heart” of my thrillers with heart comes from. Stories not about the black and white of good and evil, but rather about the gray area between where it’s not easy to know the right thing to do or what the cost will be, even if you win your happy ending.

Continue reading “The Color of Lies by C. J. Lyons Blog Tour: An Interview with The New York Times Bestselling Author + GIVEAWAY!”

Isle of Blood and Stone Blog Tour: Top 10 Favorite Quotes & ARC Review — A Dazzling Historical Fantasy that Fuels the Adventurer Inside You

Hi guys! I hope you are having a marvelous first week of April! Today I am on the blog tour for one of my most anticipated YA releases of the Spring, Isle of Blood and Stone by Makiia Lucier, and it did not disappoint! This book releases this Tuesday, April 10th, and you do NOT want to miss this epic fantasy adventure!

Isle of Blood and Stone Blog Tour


About the BookIsle of Blood and Stone

Title: Isle of Blood and Stone

Author: Makiia Lucier

Publisher: HMH

Release Date: April 10th, 2018

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis: Ulises asked, “How can I look at these maps, see this riddle, and do nothing? They are my brothers.”

Elias reached across the table and flicked aside two shells with a fingertip. The map curled into itself. “It’s bound to be a goose chase. You know that?”

“Or a treasure hunt,” Ulises countered, “and you’ve always been good at those.”

Nineteen-year-old Elias is a royal explorer, a skilled mapmaker, and the new king of del Mar’s oldest friend. Soon he will embark on the adventure of a lifetime, an expedition past the Strait of Cain and into uncharted waters. Nothing stands in his way…until a long-ago tragedy creeps back into the light, threatening all he holds dear.

The people of St. John del Mar have never recovered from the loss of their boy princes, kidnapped eighteen years ago, both presumed dead. But when two maps surface, each bearing the same hidden riddle, troubling questions arise. What really happened to the young heirs? And why do the maps appear to be drawn by Lord Antoni, Elias’s father, who vanished on that same fateful day? With the king’s beautiful cousin by his side—whether he wants her there or not—Elias will race to solve the riddle of the princes. He will have to use his wits and guard his back. Because some truths are better left buried…and an unknown enemy stalks his every turn.

Goodreads

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound | Book Depository


4 Stars

Disclaimer: Thanks so much to HMH for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review. This will not affect my review in any way.

I love adventure novels. They take you on wild quests into some of the most dangerous places as the protagonists search for something they long for, only to face evil along the way. A great adventure novel sucks you into the heart of the story, making you forget about your surroundings and feel danger and death lurking around the corner, all while you are on the edge of your seat. Isle of Blood and Stone can be placed into that group. Lucier’s latest novel combines the thrill of exploration with a fantasy world that is full of magic, betrayal, love, and mapmaking. As Elias, Ulises, and Mercedes solve the mystery of what happened to his father and two half-brothers, readers are left guessing until the last page.

Continue reading “Isle of Blood and Stone Blog Tour: Top 10 Favorite Quotes & ARC Review — A Dazzling Historical Fantasy that Fuels the Adventurer Inside You”