Girl on the Verge Blog Tour: Review – A Dark, Thrilling, and Shocking Surprise

Hi guys! I have another review for you all, and today it is part of the Girl on the Verge Blog Tour! I’m seriously now wanting to read Forget Tomorrow now (which is also by Pintip Dunn) because the author wowed me with this book! Go read my review below!


Girl on the Verge
Pintip Dunn
Published by: Kensington
Publication date: June 27th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks


Author Bio:

Pintip Dunn is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL.

Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. Her debut novel,FORGET TOMORROW, won the RWA RITA® for Best First Book. Her other novels include THE DARKEST LIE, REMEMBER YESTERDAY, and the novella BEFORE TOMORROW.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland. You can learn more about Pintip and her books at http://www.pintipdunn.com

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter



Disclaimer: I received a free electronic copy of this book in exchange for a review. This will not affect my review in any way.

Overall Thoughts: I’m surprised that I finished this book in two days. Two days!!! It might not have been that long, but I couldn’t put it down, especially in school. I’m glad I got to skip Wellness (I was done with my Pacer Test exam so…) because it gave me enough time to finish it. Girl on the Verge hooked me so much I just devoured it. From the suspicious start to the suspenseful ending, it kept me on the edge of my seat. Funny story, I couldn’t stop reacting to this book that twice I stood up because I was flipped off by the characters. I was like “How could you?” It definitely exceeded my expectations. I thought I was in for a coming-of-age-esque story, so I did not think I was in store for a dark, twisted thriller.

Twists and Turns: Let me tell you, the book gets darker and darker and darker. At the beginning, I was wondering Shelly and Kan’s friendship because it felt too good to be true. It was. But I can’t tell you why or what is going on. The author is super clever with everything! I love how the third-person point of view for Shelly changes the story each time. I did not expect anything… well I didn’t expect mostly everything (see “The Shocking Surprise”), but I was reacting the whole time. It’s like watching a movie when you’re by yourself; you can’t stop with the commentary. I could not stop going “Oh my gosh!!!” in this book. It was that great.
Thrills and Chills: Like I said before, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat! There’s no such thing as “one last chapter” in this book. The book sucks you in like a movie; you just cannot put it down! You’d be shocked at what goes on in the book, and how everything clicks together at the end. It really reminds me of We Were Liars, but it’s better. It definitely is chilling the deeper you go into it. It starts off like everything’s normal and then you go into a deep, dark hole full of suspense and angst. It’s chilling to think about!

The Shocking Surprise: There’s a big twist at the end that changes the entire story, but it’s somewhat predictable. I was able to suspect what it was, which softened the big blow. I like those stories that you cannot expect what happens at the end, like We Were Liars (which by the way had a great twist but not-so-great execution). Is it still shocking? Yes! I mean, my mouth was hanging open for a long time regarding everything. My mind is a bit blown from it!

Concluding Thoughts: If I would create a pitch of this book, I would recommend this for fans of We Were Liars. You keep on questioning everything. You side with Kan and become suspicious with Shelly. Yet you know what Kan doesn’t know and you just want her to know so badly! It transcends We Were Liars because this is actually executed cleverly. No wonder why Kirkus raves about this book! I probably should go read some more books by Pintip Dunn now.


GIVEAWAY!


Happy Reading!

+ J.M.J.

~ Kester

Do you have any thoughts or questions?

Comment below, or find me in one of my social media pages, and let’s chat!

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram


XBTBanner1

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Girl on the Verge Blog Tour: Review – A Dark, Thrilling, and Shocking Surprise

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s